rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















weekend
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004,

Saturday, I puttered around the house, tidying, cleaning, and doing the wash (what else is new, right?). But it wasn�t that bad this week, so it hardly took any time/effort at all. Either that, or my rising energy levels are making the whole thing seem easier. Possible, I suppose. Spouse had to work till three, as the owner and the manager were in Texas, dove hunting. I notice they are gradually moving back to putting Spouse into the assistant shop manager position. They should give him a raise and more benefits if they are going to do that, but he�ll never ask. He�ll just do what he always does�take their shit until he can�t stand it, and then quit. And my soul will die a little more, like it always does.

Anyway, I don�t mean to be so un-mellow. After I got the house put back together on Saturday, I just putzed around, watching my new movie and getting cleaned up. I wore the jeans. After I�d had them on awhile, they fit very well. But I need to get rid of the two-bellies before I�m really comfortable in them. Top belly pooches out over the waistband a bit too much.

Spouse got home about 3:30, and wanted to go get the Thompson book he�d reserved at the library (�Hey, Rube�). Then , he shocked me by announcing that he wanted to go shopping for a new bed. Truly, his bed is a wreck. I told him a few months ago that if he really wanted to do something (besides bitch) about waking up tired and sore in the morning, he should replace the cheap, 20-year-old, totally worn out mattress and box spring he was �sleeping� on. I had no idea he had actually listened. I think he finally realized he was sleeping better on the road than he was at home.

So we went to Verlo. And after he recovered a bit from the sticker shock, we went to a local bargain/closeout furniture store. Where he hadn�t wanted to go. And where he found exactly the bed he wanted, at a reasonable price. A nice, firm-yet-comfortable mattress and box spring, and a brand new, light maple finish bed in a sort of mission-style design. It will go very well with the computer armoire, and eventually we will get him a dresser, a nightstand, and a bookcase in the light maple as well. Anyway, we got the sale written up and put down a deposit, and Spouse will arrange to pick it up Friday, with one of his pickup-owning friends. Meanwhile, he�s going to have to buckle down and clean that filthy room. And I, as usual, will have to be the one to stand there with the nagging equivalent of a gun to his head, and see that he does. You know, because he�s twelve.

After purchasing the bed, we ran to Wally�s for the necessities of life�toilet paper, tissues, paper plates, XM radio�did I say XM radio? Sure did! My sweetie-honey-scooter-pie bought me my birthday gift a whole month early; the Roady system from XM. Heeee! He installed and activated it Sunday morning, and I�m loving it muchly. Then we swung by the lodge to pay his dues, by the Wing Stop to pick up some dinner, and came home to watch �Wizards�.

Sunday was a quiet day. I got up slow, having my coffee, puttering on the PC, and taking it easy while Spouse walked the dog and installed my XM. Then I got dressed and we went down the street to vacuum and wash my poor, filthy retro-rocket. And at the carwash, I, like an idiot, took my cigarettes out of my purse, set them down on the curb by the vacuum, and forgot all about them. Brand new pack, too. Dammit. Then we took a ride out into the county and back, stopped at Woody�s for grocery shopping, and came home to hole up for a quiet afternoon, avoiding the heat. DVDs, PC, beading, amazing snuggly puppy-cuddles, attempted naps, a little more laundry�an unplanned trip to the shop because the cleaners set off the alarm, and Spouse, of course, was on call�well, that wasn�t fun, but it gave us the chance to get rid of the grass clippings before they started to stink. I finally made Racheal Ray�s Italian Mini-Meatloaves for dinner, with mini penne on the side and a tossed salad. Very good! We are having leftovers for dinner tonight�same meal entirely. Yeah, we liked it that much.

Reading: Colin Dexter�s �The Remorseful Day� (the last Inspector Morse)

Music: My brand new XM! ("On Broadway", of course!)

Beading: �Bout 2/3 of the way through on the faux garnet/marcasite choker.

Schroeder
You are Schroeder!

Which Peanuts Character are You?
brought to you by Quizilla

300-6=294-6=288-4=284

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com