rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















the first 10
Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004, 9:27 AM

100 Things About Me, Part One

1. When I was twelve, one of my brothers threw me onto a sled that was tied to a truck bumper. Another brother gunned the truck and took off down a snowy, icy gravel road. The end result was me getting half my face scraped off, two black eyes, and a broken pair of glasses. And I actually covered for them with our parents. Because in our family dynamic, the me against them (my brothers) was totally trumped by the us (kids) against them (parents).

2. As much of a sugar junkie as I am, I will never eat a Cadbury cream Egg, or a malted milk ball. Uck.

3. When I was in the eighth grade, my mom and my family doctor conspired to get me hooked on high-powered amphetamines. I was so grossly overweight, you see. A one thousand calorie diet and high powered drugs, when you are 14 years old and 30 pounds overweight. Yeah, that�s a good idea. The personality change I suffered (raging bitch syndrome, I think it�s called) cost me all my friends. You know, all the friends I �didn�t have�. Because I was �so awfully fat, and therefore unlovable�.

4. I�ve always loved being alone, even when I was a baby. My mom could put me in my playpen, and ignore me for hours. I wouldn�t cry unless somebody bothered me. I�m still like that, at 41.

5. I am very intelligent, but I have always been very lazy with it.

6. From the time I was very small, I would never imagine my wedding, but frequently considered my funeral.

7. I am not a �boomer�, and I am not a �Gen-Xer�. I fall between the two, and thus am left without a collective identity. That right there explains a lot about me.

8. I have always felt the loss of my two older sisters, even though they died before I, or any of my brothers, were born.

9. I grew up with only four TV channels. In a world where you didn�t own movies. Where computers were room-sized, of limited capacity, and owned by impersonal monopolies like the phone company. Where the phone company was a monopoly. Where car phones were only seen in movies, in the limousines of millionaires.

Yeah. Chew on that awhile.

10. I prefer carnations to roses.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com