rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















dinner and (several) movies
Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004, 7:49 AM

For some reason, I really hurt this morning. Neck, lower back, and hips all very achy. Perhaps my body knows what day this is, and is crying out.

But I got up and kissed Spouse out the door to work, then made my coffee and took my morning batch of pills.

The pills are more numerous than ever, I�m afraid. A Claritin-D for allergies, A Prilosec for acid reflux, and 2 Naprosyn for my hands are all still represented. But now, in addition, we have a multi-vitamin, a metabolism supplement, and a fiber supplement. Seven in all, plus another fiber and another metabolism in the afternoon, and one more fiber pill before bed., which brings the total to ten. I�m surprised I don�t rattle like a maraca.

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

We went out for dinner last night, to The Charcoal Grill. W and T gave us a gift certificate for our birthday last year, and it was about to expire. (I just realized how that last sentence reads like the �royal we�. It would to anyone who was unaware that Spouse and I share a birthday.)

So we used it up, and had a lovely dinner.

Spouse had the steak sandwich, but had them put it on an onion roll, as he despises Ciabatta bread. I had their Friday special--a whitefish filet and vegetables baked in their wood-fire oven.

Wow! My fish was marvelous. Moist, flavorful, and with a faint smokiness that made it perfect . The veggies, a mix of big chunks of zucchini, yellow crookneck squash, and carrots, were very good as well, once I scraped big glob of melted cheese off the top. Yeah, melted cheese. Welcome to Wisconsin--you can�t escape the cheese. It was supposed to come with rice, as well, but they never brought it. And I never asked. I certainly didn�t need it, or the calories. I also had three glasses of iced tea with lemon, because I am a glutton for fresh iced tea, and theirs is always very good. I usually have their equally superb raspberry iced tea, but they sweeten that, so I went for the regular this time.

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

After dinner, we took a ride down to Gurnee because Spouse�s bonus was burning a hole in his psyche. He wanted to buy himself something, and it was eating him up. Unfortunately, it wasn�t his night. Neither BB or CC had the DVD drive he was looking for, and even when he made up his mind to buy me the XM system I want, he had no luck. I want the cheaper, original Roady system, but CC only sells the more expensive Roady II. Since I have a cassette deck in my car, it makes no sense to me to buy the model with the FM modulator, which costs $31 more.

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

We ended up with a few DVDs, and that was it. Spouse got Ralph Bakshi�s �Wizards�, and old favorite from his crazy youth. I got a great set called �On the Road With Bob Hope & Bing Crosby�, which contains The Roads to: Singapore, Zanzibar, Morocco, and Utopia. �The Road to Morocco� and �The Road to Utopia� are my favorite Road pictures, and at $20.99, I thought it was a good bargain. I also found a treasure in the $5.99 OR LESS bin. The original �My Man Godfrey�, with William Powell and Carole Lombard, for $4.99.

I actually like both versions of this movie, but the later one is not quite as good. It is mostly enjoyable for David Niven, and for Eva Gabor�s performance in a small role. (June Allyson is downright grating, though!) The original, on the other hand, has it going on. The aforementioned Powell and Lombard, and a more authentic period (the great Depression) that makes the whole premise more believable. Plus Eugene Pallette, Gail Patrick, Mischa Auer�s famous ape impression, and the fun of spotting Gracie Fields, Phyllis Crane, Franklin Pangborn, Grady Sutton, and Jane Wyman in small, unaccredited roles. All in all, my favorite of the 1930�s �screwball comedies�.

Well, I do suppose that that is enough for now, and I can always come back and write more if I so choose.

I love my diary.

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

UPDATE: I had to pop back in and record this lovely milestone--I just tried on my jeans. They fit. Well, they zip. Still a bit snug, although I need to wear them awhile before I know for sure. They usually stretch quite a bit in the wearing, as I recall. But, fuck, am I happy or what?!

Reading: gave up on �The Peppered Moth�, by Margaret Drabble, started �Colin Dexter�s �The Remorseful Day� (the last Inspector Morse)

Music: Sirius, The Broadway Channel

Beading: choker to match my new stretchy bracelet.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com