rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















eek. a REAL dead mouse.
Friday, Sept. 10, 2004,

Life Lesson Learned: DO NOT grope blindly under a chair for a bead you dropped. That is a very good way to touch the DEAD MOUSE UNIMAGINABLE GROSSNESS OH GOD I�M STILL SHUDDERING.

Poor Spouse. He was sound asleep when I let out the blood-curdling power-scream. AND I made him get out of bed and deal with the problem immediately, while I stood washing my hands over and over in my best imitation of Lady MacBeth.

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

I did go to the bead store after work last night, and found most of what I needed. I like the shop on the south side of town, but she really doesn�t carry enough of a selection, and she doesn�t organize by color like most bead stores. I did find some pretty Czech beads in pretty, watery shades, and got some to make a stretchy bracelet with. I got those instead of fire-polish, because her selection is limited. I got a/b finish #8s in a very mermaidy-type color for the edges. This one will be chunkier than the last bracelet, and hopefully a little easier to manipulate the stringing. And I got some new wire needles, and seed beads to go with the aquamarine bugles I�ve got. Just crystal a/b finish in #11, but they will complement the aqua beads.

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Dinner was a bit of chaos last night. Having asked Spouse what he desired, I had thawed chicken breasts for dinner. But when I asked him how he wanted them, he threw a minor tantrum and said he wished he could have spagetti. Since I really didn't care to listen to him bitch, I picked up the phone and ordered in from the local Italian restaurant.

I needed to eat a big meal anyway, as that seems to be the only was I can manage a bowel movement. I get pretty tired of only pooping twice a week. But considering my BMI, and the amount of calories I need to take in just to maintain my weight, a couple of heavier meals a week really don't hurt my diet. I had the stuffed pepper, and skipped the pasta.

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

I was supposed to have met with the HVAC guy for an estimate on a new furnace today, but he called a while ago and begged off till next week, as he was alone in the office. His office manager is E's cousin, and she had to go to her dad, who's dying in the hospital. E and P have had E's aunt staying with them for a while, to be closer to her husband, so I was well aware of the severity of the situation, and naturally I didn't complain. From what the guy said, it doesn't look like the poor guy has much time left. No biggie, same time next week will be fine.

Spouse and I have been trying to be supportive in our own small way, doing whatever little thing we can to help with the situation. When P told me that Auntie liked my preserves, I sent more home with them, and when E said that Papa was was cut off from his TV because Auntie is staying in the den, Spouse and I sent our basement set home with them for Papa to put in his room. There isn't much we can do, but whatever they need, we're happy to accommodate.

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

I found out this morning that I have to work next Saturday. Bleh. They schedule everything so it eats up the whole day. If I could start by seven, it wouldn't be so bad, but we have to kiss the asses of the Eastern time people, so eight is the earliest we can start. I say fuck the East; we are the techies and they should dance to our tune.

Speaking of work, when I came in this morning there was some bizarre brochure on my desk. It looked like the kind of thing designed to entice potential new hires. Extolling the virtues of all the little services that my company provides its employees. All the stuff that makes me pissed off, because they act like they are doing us this huge favor, with the oil changes and film developing and fitness center and chair massages, etc. When in truth, all this is in aid of just one thing. taking away any possible excuse we could have for NOT being at work. It smacks of Henry Ford-style social interference, and the 19th century "company town" business model. I say it's spinach, and I say to hell with it.

Reading: still slogging away at �The Peppered Moth�, by Margaret Drabble

In the CD player: �The Producers�, original Broadway Cast Album

Beading: choker to match my new stretchy bracelet.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com