rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















geeky bliss moment
2004-07-19,

God, how I love the Internet. I have been wracking my brain, trying to remember the name/author of a book I last read over twenty years ago. After much cudgeling of the brain, I managed to dredge up three words that could lend themselves to a search: �Miss Jessie, Librarian�. I was by no means certain that the protagonist�s name actually was Miss Jessie. But it felt right, I was sure about the librarian part, and I had to start somewhere.

Moments later, I had it. �Splendora�, by Edward Swift. A few minutes after that, I had his entire bibliography. And a few minutes after that, I had determined that my local library system is in possession of three of his books, including Splendora.

If it is possible to radiate bliss, I do. I am quite old enough to remember what life was like when there were no VCRs or DVDs, no computers, no cell phones, no satellite dishes or cable systems, no Internet. And whenever I get a little nostalgic for my idyllic youth, I make myself remember what was NOT there, as well as what was. And I realize that this is my time. Where I belong. WHEN I belong.

BOOKS BY EDWARD SWIFT:

Splendora

A Place with Promise

Miss Spellbinder's Point of View: A Biography of the Imagination

My Grandfather's Finger

The Christopher Park Regulars

Mother Of Pearl

Principia Martindale: A Comedy in Three Acts

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com