rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















church festival
2004-07-18, 5:37 a.m.

Jeez. Spouse is off taking his mom and brother to the airport (JR is taking her to Vegas again, so I thought I'd grab the opportunity to post. He kept me hopping yesterday, so I'm hoping we get to kick back a little today.

After I posted yesterday, I thought we'd chill out for the rest of the day. No chance. He wanted to go to the library. I don't know why, because he never finds anything to read there. But we ran up to the Northside branch and I found a boatload of stuff. Then he drove around listening to his XM for a while, and couldn't resist stopping by and showing it off to his boss. That was unpleasant for me, as I can't stand the man. Having to be civil to him is a bit of a strain.

When we got done there, we went out to Woody's for groceries. Did a big shop. Took it home and put it away. Did I get to relax then, you ask? Hell, no.

He wanted to go to the church festival.

Ungh. So we we had festival food for supper. Roasted corn, Italian beef with sweet peppers, hot dogs, Italian sausages, fried dough, beer, sangria, Sno-Kones...gah. Surprisingly, it sat perfectly well with me and I didn't feel sick at all. And actually, St. Therese has a fantastic festival. They had a Beatles cover band that was pretty good, and tons of great food, games, and a general good time. The church is situated on several acres, in a beautiful oak grove. They actually have it set up like a park, with permanent pavilions, concession stands, and facilities. It is like their own private fairgrounds. These folks take their festival seriously. And the weather was perfect last evening. Low 70's, sunny, with a strong breeze. No bugs, no sweat, just a nice experience.

All in all, yesterday was all good. But I really hope today is just a quiet, stay at home kind of thing.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com