rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















foodie emergency day
2004-07-10, 2:44 p.m.

Somewhat busy morning today. I was up around 5:00 am, driven by one very single-minded black lab. It was cute when I took her out, though. I stopped and sat down on the swing--and she joined me! Climbed right up, curled up next to me with her head on my knee, and we had a nice cuddle, swinging gently and enjoying the early morning quiet. Until I couldn't stand the mosquitos anymore, anyway.

When I came in, I set to work on the house. Spouse is leaving tomorrow after all, so I needed to get his laundry done. Including uniforms, because his clean ones won't be in till Tuesday, and he's in TN by then. So I cleaned the kitchen, did several loads of wash, ran the vacuum, and generally got my butt in gear. By 8:00, he was up, dressed, and out walking the dog, and I was showering and getting ready to go shopping.

Out the door and on the road by twenty to nine, and off to the grocery Mecca of Waukegan Road. We hit the Trader Joe's in Northbrook, where we picked up a case of $3 CHUCK Merlot for P, in addition to my usual goodies. I'm extremely pissed, though, that they didn't have my wonderful Rosemary-Mint Bodywash today.

Breakfast at George's "What's Cooking" restaurant (excellent, ****) and went on to our next stop. We had TEN Oberweis milk bottles to return, and Spouse was pissed when he realized he was headed in the wrong direction from the dairy store. Until I reminded him that we were headed in the right direction for Whole Foods Market in Deerfield. Where they sell Oberweis, and we could return the bottles, and were planning on going anyway. I think he sometimes appreciates having an intelligent and efficiency-minded wife.

We did a bit of shopping there and hit the road back north for home, stopping at the new library when we got back to town. He didn't find anything he wanted to check out, but I returned a bunch of stuff and grabbed some mysteries. We were home before one!

Spouse just called me on his cell as I was writing that. He was calling from the back yard. He had taken Raj on another walk and they were witting in the backyard--so he called to request a bowl of water for her. (shakes head) Whatever.

Anyway, I am wrapping up the laundry, and relaxing for the rest of the day. Barbequed ribs, country mashed potatoes, Trader Joe's green beans, and garlic bread for dinner, but for now, I am just kicking back now, enjoying the day. I think I earned it.

Later

I took a nap today...unusual for me, but lovely, anyway. Just an hour, from 4 to 5. Then I got up, ran to the store for stamps, gassed up the retro-rocket, and picked up some squares. Home to make dinner, which cooks as I write. Got an email from W; T has decided she won't go to see her mom tomorrow after all, and so I'm going over with my copy of "Strange Brew", for a movie afternoon. I should run out to Woodie's tomorrow morning and pick up some of the really great popcorn we all like, and some sodas. I'm nice that way...I never like to visit empty-handed.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com