rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















hot and hip--yeah, that's me
2004-06-30, 6:16 p.m.

Christ, I'm hot. It's 83 degrees in this house, and I can't use the air conditioning because of the broken furnace blower. Ugh.

So I probably should't have the oven on. But the sweet siren song of blackberry cobbler kept resonating in my mind. So I made some. No biggie--it's not like I'm roasting a turkey in there. Anyway, I can always take the dog and go down to the basement where it is cool. And dinner is microwave gourmet, tonight--no additional heat there. Stouffer's chicken teriyaki with rice. Easy and tasty.

My nails are starting to look a bit shabby. I know I need to redo them, but I'm too hot and I hurt too much to worry about them. Like an idiot, I tripped on the driveway edging and screwed up my hip. My GOOD hip, dammit. Now it is twingeing like a fiend. I need to make this brief, because sitting in the desk chair is too painful.

So:

WHAT I'M READING: "COURTING TROUBLE" by Lisa Scottoline. Very readable story of a lawyer trying to solve her own murder. Yeah, her own murder. It wouldn't exactly be shortlisted for the Booker Prize, but I like it so far.

WHAT'S IN THEATERS: "Dodgeball-A True Underdog Story", "The Notebook", "White Girls"

WHAT IS ON TV:Court TV has a show on tonight called "Extreme Evidence--Hack Attack" tonight that looks interesting. "A mysterious computer crash pushed a thriving manufacturing company to the brink of collapse, jeopardizing the jobs of hundreds of employees. There was no apparent cause; there were no obvious clues. Forensic investigators had to determine if the crash was the result of a computer defect, human error, or sabotage." Sounds pretty cool. And I'll probably watch "Forensic Files".

Well, I'm out. My hip hurts.

9:30 PM

Well. I spoke with Spouse this evening. He told me he went off on his boss today as soon as the prick got there. Told him that before he even started with his shit, "Here's your keys, here's your credit card--I've had it with this constant shit. I quit." The weasel immediately got all conciliatory and ass-kissy. Well, after his boss got done talking to everyone at the meat plant,and they all told him what amazing guys he has working for him, he took Spouse aside and told him he understood how hard Spouse had been working, he appreciated it a lot, and since they'd had such a good year, there was a bonus waiting for him at home. A bonus of $10,000.00. Well. Oh, my. I guess we'll be getting the furnace fixed.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com