rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















pleasant surprise
2004-06-15, 5:51 a.m.

Well, I have to say i will never understand that man. We've been married nineteen years (today), and I figure he's decided not to make a fuss this year, or it has slipped his mind, because he made no mention of it coming up. Last night he waltzed through the door with a dozen long-stemmed red roses (absolutely gorgeous arrangement!), and a cake. A cake, for Pete's sake!

Now, true, I don't particularly care to get long-stemmed red roses. And it was a white cake with white gunky frosting, which is probably my least favorite. (Who am I kidding? I HATE white cake!) Those are HIS favorites. But he was trying to be thoughtful and loving, and sometimes the thought really does count. Would I have been happier with a dozen carnations, or a basket arrangement, and a torte or a chocolate cake, or even a bag of croissants? Well--yes! I like those things! (trying to be honest here.) But in a way, no. I love him, and I don't expect him to change. And these are things he holds dear, that he's sharing with me. That counts for something too.

And he's getting closer to the actual day, too. He used to hit the weekend before, or two weeks after, but never on the actual day. He came within 18 hours of the actual anniversary this year! What a guy is my guy. I do love him so.

3:30 pm I went and got rest of the stuff for tomorrow's jam-making; I'm trying a new pectin (Ball Fruit-Jell No Sugar Needed) that can be used with little or no added sugar. I'll add a couple of cups to the recipe for improved flavor, appearance and preservation, but two cups for the whole recipe is a substantial reduction. A regular red raspberry recipe with the same yield takes about 5-6 cups of sugar. Why not eliminate ALL sugar? I really don't see the point if the end product is a gooey, dull, brownish muck that tastes sour and blah. Just two cups of sugar means "jam" instead of "spread", and I'm making jam. I was also able to get hold of some rhubarb, which means I'm making Strawbery-Rhubarb; that should go over big with the fans. W really likes s-r, as does Daddy. And T has to eat lo-sug, as does Mom. Something for everyone.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com