rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















busy is good
2004-06-07, 5:47 p.m.

This day was way busy at work; I had tons of crap to test/write up/get fixed/test again. Not that I mind. I would rather be focused, busy and productive than bored and directionless and bitter.

Yesterday afternoon we watched Horatio�s Drive. It was fascinating, and very easy to enjoy. Keith David narrated, and Tom Hanks did �the voice of Horatio�, reading his correspondence. Tom Bodett, Eli Wallach, Adam Arkin, John Collum, and the late George Plimpton also lent their distinctive voices to the tale. I really liked it.

I sat beading for ages yesterday. It felt great, and by some miracle, I didn�t do my self a mischief: my hands felt sensational this morning when I got up. Maybe because it is 86 degrees, and muggy as hell today. Funny how my hands love that but the rest of me hates it. Anyway, I�ll be beading again tonight; repair job on my green/blue/copper strand. It broke at my desk this a.m. Caught all the big beads, though. If I lost a few of the seeds, no matter. I have plenty of those.

Spouse and I did the ice cream thing last evening, the recipe I picked is a thousand percent better than the first one he tried. This one was yummy. I made lasagna for dinner, with a salad and garlic bread, so something cold and sweet was nice for afters.

Nail progress report: Coming along very nicely, and I couldn�t be more pleased. By next week when I�m off, I hope to have a respectable set with which to present my manicurist.

I don�t believe I mentioned that my watch died last week and I went half-insane for the lack of it. Not to mention the fact that, of the 5 watches I owned, all 5 had dead batteries! I got so desperate on Friday that I bought a $2 el cheapo plastic at the ghetto-mart. I had a hell of a time getting it set, but once I did, it filled the bill until I could get a new one Saturday night at Hell~Mart. The good news, they had one that looked just like my old one. More good news�it was even cheaper than my old one. Slightly not good news�the difference in band length was almost an inch, so this one is a wee bit tight. I�ll wear the plastic one for working in the yard and around the house, though. It looks silly, but it tells time and if I fuck it up�who cares?!

I got invited to a stupid launch party for the latest project I�ve been working on, but happily, I may decline on the grounds that I am on vacation next week. Declining these things is frowned on by management, but out of town is one of the few acceptable excuses. For some reason, they just hate the free-thinker who declines on principle. They really don�t like to be told that you only speak to them because you are paid to. And no matter how tactfully I put it, that is the unvarnished truth.

Yo-Ho, off I go...

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com