rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















spousal synchronization
2004-05-20, 7:50 a.m.

Once in a while, you have one of those days where you and your spouse are just on the same wavelength. Last night I'm driving home from work, mentally reviewing the contents of my cupboard and fridge, and trying to be enthused about putting together a meal from said contents. When I got home, the first thing Spouse said was "You don't feel like cooking, do you? I don't feel like cooking. Let's order out." Bless him. Next, instead of the usual dueling Libras "what do you want I don't know what do you want I don't know what do you want-- infinity", he said what? I said Italian? He said great-place-we-both-love-but-never-go-to-because-it's-in-another-state? (In reality, it has a much shorter name.) I said great, and that was settled. Really, I cannot emphasize enough how unusual it is for us to decide that quickly.

Later, on the way to pick up the pizza, I was lamenting my desperate state. I explained that I had a thousand little things wrong with me, all of which could be listed under the heading "she needs a vacation". The answer was swift and decisive. "I'm off this weekend, decide where you want to go and book a room." Stunned pause on my part.

The upshot is, we are off northward this weekend. Off to Green Bay--home of the Packers, and the amazing Weetabix.

Or more to the point for us, home of indoor water parks and Indian gaming. And the luscious proximity of Seroogy's, in nearby De Pere.

I really love my Scooter-Pie baby.

So, from now until Saturday, I'll be busy as a beaver with two tails, getting the house shaped up (No new vac yet, but I may have to break down and use the old one. It is getting deep in there!) and getting the clothes done up. Plus Raji has a vet appointment first thing Saturday. ANND...all of this hinges on the kennel. If I can't off-load the dog, we can't go. I have to call this morning, but here's hoping....

The stars are smiling...and Raji is booked at the kennel. Woo-Hoo! UpNorth, here I come!

"Work, alternated with needful rest, is the salvation of man or woman." -- Antoinette Brown Blackwell, first ordained woman minister in the United States

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com