rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















old dog, new trick
September 09, 2005, 3:37 P.M.

Oh, I was so jazzed last night. Even when it was time to go to bed, I was still wired. I tossed and turned till shortly before midnight, and then woke up again about ten minutes later when Spouse came home.

And then, the dreams started. I've been a very active dreamer lately. I had one that just screamed "I need time to myself", wherein a man and woman from some marketing research company barge into my home and invade every aspect of my being. Going through all my stuff, reading my address book and quizzing me on the people listed, writing down the brand names of the food in my kitchen. An introvert's worst nightmare? I'm here to say: YES!

The woman was clearly in charge, and she was a live-action version of Lindsey Nagle, the power-suited businesswoman trotted out for all Simpsons episodes requiring such a character. Chilling.

But oh, the price I pay for a bad night's sleep!



Still, it was nice to come home to a clean house, with the laundry reasonably caught up, and face a weekend where it isn't all about hauling this place back from the brink.

Spouse, too his credit, has been doing a decent job of trying to be neat. I thanked him nicely for that today when I got home. He's been keeping the kitchen neat, throwing away his trash (instead of leaving it on whatever flat surface is most convenient), rinsing and wiping the bathroom sink, putting his dirty clothes in the wash basket, and not piling big heaps of junk everywhere. He very pointedly drew my attention to the fact that in addition, he has been very careful about how many glasses and dishes he dirties! So I know he's making a conscious effort. And it is very much appreciated. It's good to know the old poop can pull himself out of the mire and pass for human sometimes.



I asked Spouse if he wanted me to stay up and make him dinner when he comes home tonight, but he wasn�t interested. Every time he has a shift change, it plays havoc with his sleeping patterns and his appetite. I got some fresh greens at the store today, so I think I�ll make him a salad; perhaps that�ll sound good to him. We still have farmer�s market tomatoes, so he might go for that.

And sometime this weekend, I intend to use the rest of the FM carrots to make him his favorite, carrots in a honey-poppyseed glaze. Not sure what I�ll make with yet.
But just to entice him to eat, and say thanks for keeping the house neat.



No G.R. today--I came straight home so I could spend a bit of time with Spouse before he went to work. I�ll probably take my baby girl for a nice long w-a-l-k tonight, to make up for it. And of course, tomorrow is extra-long walkies day, so we�ll both burn some energy in the morning.



Reading: �Daisy Fay and the Miracle Man�, by Fannie Flagg, and "The Blood Doctor", by Barbara Vine (Ruth Rendell).

Listening: XM Radio, "On Broadway". Chita, as Anita, sez--"A Boy Like That"...He keel your brother. Bebe, as Velma, sez--No, I'm no one's wife, but, oh I love my life...and "All That Jazz!" My sweet Joel, as The Wizard, sez--They think I'm "Wonderful". (They're right!)


Beading: Currently Inactive

One Year Ago, I was jonesing for beads.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com