rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















sensory overload by the lake
September 10, 2005, 12:18 P.M.

I just turned on the air conditioner. First time in three weeks, actually. We've had some heat, but a lot of low-humidity days, and it has cooled off every night. But this weekend is supposed to be hot, and I can already feel--and see---the high humidity. I looked at the thermometer on the thermostat, and it's already up to 79�. And since I want to make some progress on cleaning and de-junking today, I need it reasonable in here.



I woke up about 5:45, and got up at six, after a major bed cuddle from Raji. She was doing her "flat on my back, getting my belly rubbed, I must be in heaven!" routine. But pretty soon she was letting me know that it was time to get my ass in gear and take her walkies. So I jumped into my walking clothes and we did our morning thing.

We got home about seven, and I made some coffee, tended the flower beds & pots, and sat out on the front porch, for quite a while, enjoying my coffee and finishing my Fannie Flagg book I've been reading. And starting another one! �Standing in the Rainbow�, which is set in the same town and has many of the same characters as "Welcome to the World, Baby Girl".



I came in about 8:15, pruned my eyebrows (I am sooo overdue for a cut & wax!), cleared out my pores and gave my legs a quick shave.
Then I headed down to the Harbor Marketplace, hoping to find some new potatoes that looked good. I didn't, but I did find locally produced Summer Wildflower honey, 100% beeswax (for thread waxing), muskmelon, Michigan peaches, and pimiento peppers.

Plus a perfectly gorgeous bouquet of late summer garden flowers. Which currently has pride of place on the dining room table, a fireworks blast of vivid red, gold, orange, magenta, purple, and hot pink. With a huge spike of a white gladiolus shooting out of it like a skyrocket.

I also paid a visit to Patti's booth, and got myself a tube of her cuticle balm, and some rosemary-mint "Head to Toe Body Wash", which is a yummy shampoo and body wash in one. If you have serious cuticle and/or scruffy elbow issues, the cuticle balm is nothing short of amazing.

And, since the candle lady was having a "buy one, get one 1/2 off" sale, I got a couple soy candles; the four ounce jelly jar size. "Fresh Cut Roses", and "Apple Pie". Her candles are triple scented, all-natural scents, soy with no-lead cotton wicks for clean burn, and surprisingly cheap for the quality.

Fresh, ripe fruits, scented candles, aroma-therapeutic body wash, sweet and luscious honey, and the eye-candy brilliance of summer flowers.

That's an awful lot of sensual stimulation for $32.50.

But--I seem to turn into "hedonistic decadence junkie girl" at this time of year. A real Harvest Queen. The girl's gotta have it!



I got home at ten, and Spouse was up, getting ready for work. I kept him company, puttered, put away my purchases, arranged my flowers, and generally futzed around until he left on the Sportster, then sat down to relax and write me up an entry.


After idling through my gentle and laid back morning, I really need to pop it into drive and get some housework done. I need to vacuum again, give the bathroom its cleaning, and generally make things right around here. A bit of laundry here, a bit of dusting there. I'm not going to kill myself over it.

I'm saving that for doing a de-junking in the basement! The goal for today is two large garbage bags. We just hauled about seventeen bags out of there earlier in the year, but now I'm really in the mood to toss stuff, so I don't think I'll have any trouble reaching my goal.

And, that work-in-too-little-progress, my room, should get at least a 15-minute attack.

And it's a quarter past twelve, and I need to eat something.



As for fitness, it's Saturday! (see above) Long walkies with my baby girl. It's a hot and humid day, and it was already oppressively humid at six. Both of our tongues were hanging out and our butts were dragging when we got home, and we only did about 1.1 miles.



Reading: �Standing in the Rainbow�, by Fannie Flagg, and "The Blood Doctor", by Barbara Vine (Ruth Rendell).

Listening: WDRV's Deep Tracks, Internet-Only Radio. "Steam"-- Peter Gabriel, "Light Up"--Styx, "Helpless"--Neil Young/CSN&Y, "Political Science"--Randy Newman, "Castles Made of Sand"--Jimi Hendrix, "Tupelo Honey"--Van Morrison. "Songs From The Wood"--Jethro Tull. To name more than a few.

Beading: Currently Inactive

One Year Ago, I was screaming.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com