rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















poormouthing
May 24, 2018, 7:10 P.M.

The following scenarios occurred this past weekend. Not gonna bitch, moan, or go on about it; just putting it out there.

1. On Saturday morning, after we finished at the vet's office, Spouse took us to the McDonalds drive-thru so Mr. B could get hash browns. I requested an Egg McMuffin, and NO hash browns.

Later, when we were home, eating our food, he wanted to know why I wasn't eating the hash browns he bought me.

2. Also on Saturday, my husband asked me what I wanted for dinner, and I gave him my answer promptly, clearly, and decisively. I said steak, oven- roasted potatoes, salad, and garlic toast. We went to the store together, and amongst our purchases were steaks, lettuce, garlic bread, etc.

We came home and he made dinner: BBQ ribs, corn, baked potato, and Hawaiian rolls.

3. On Sunday morning, my husband asked me what my plans were for after breakfast, and I told him. I wanted to strip the beds and get the bedding into the wash, then I wanted to clean the bathroom, and I also wanted to scour the kitchen sink. BUT. I told him that FIRST (pay attention, this is important), because it is a messy job, I wanted to dye my hair. BEFORE I cleaned the bathroom and scoured the kitchen sink. (I dye my hair in front of the bathroom mirror, but I rinse it out at the kitchen sink).

When I came back upstairs from hanging up the clothes from the dryer and putting the sheets in the wash, he was halfway through cleaning the bathroom.

My hair is still mostly grey, by the way.


Took B for his re-check on Saturday, the Doc was not happy with his back paw. New medicine, latest thing, only bottle they had, but nothing's too good for their favorite pooch. Another $200.00 for that trip. I don't begrudge the money, and I take the best care I can of my dog, but this round of issues is sucking up pretty much every penny of my discretionary funds. I feel like I can't even buy so much as a bottle of ink for myself right now, because every spare coin needs to be set aside for vet bills and dog meds. (Not that I really need anything, anyway.)

I am writing this on Thursday, and I do have to say that the new medicine seems to be helping. His foot is looking better and he seems to be bothering it less.
We bought a new shed from Lowe's, and got a really good deal on it--it was on sale, and Spouse gets a veteran's discount on top of that, so we really felt it was time to finally replace the old shed that we had torn down a few years ago. The new one we ordered is a Rubbermaid Roughneck 7'x7'. It was about $550, and as I said that is a great price. But Spouse wants to have a slab poured for it, too, so that will be an additional cost, plus we have to rent a truck to get it home, which will be another $50, at least. Less cheap all the time. Not to mention that it's going to be a lot of work.

Speaking of a lot of work--I can't entirely blame Spouse for the fact that all the lawn-mowing seems to fall to me, because we only get dry days in the middle of the week, and I'm the only one who can do it in the middle of the week. It's too late by the time he gets home and has his dinner.

But the fact that I have to use that stupid electric mower, and the fact that we even have a stupid lawn that I have to get stuck mowing?
TOTALLY his fault. I knew how he was 25 years ago, and I told him then that I didn't want to buy a house because they are a F**K of a lot of work, and I was going to end up having to do all of it.

And some of it is beyond me. I can't do the sorely needed tuckpointing and painting and backfilling around the foundation that so desperately needs to be done. I can't afford to hire somebody, and even if I could, this is a terrible town to try and get work done. If you don't have a job running to tens of thousands of dollars, local contracters simply won't take it on. (This is going to come into play shortly, with the concrete Spouse wants to have poured.)

I seem to be falling into the pattern of mowing and trimming the front & sides on Wednesday after work, and then doing the back on Thursday. As long as the weather continues as it has been going, I guess I'll stick to that.

As for the flowers, well...again--if it rains every single weekend, and if the dog takes every cent I have to spare--where is a flower garden supposed to come from?

I still have no idea when/how we are going to get around to dealing with the pool. I can't afford to keep it, but I really can't afford to get rid of it, either, so I suppose a way must be found.
Pinching pennies is hard, when you've already pinched most of them once. Everything has gone up lately--food, gas, the electric rates--prices are skyrocketing. I'm already trying to save money by getting 50% more mileage out of a haircut (6 weeks rather than 4), and it's getting pretty doggone bushy up in here.

Oh, and Mr. "You can't possibly need a new phone because our phones are the same age and mine is just fine" got his comeuppance for that last week. He had to replace his G3. He got a nice little LG K20-- I wish they had been offering that when I had to replace mine, since it was only $168.00. But again--there's another $168 that we had to lay out.
It is constant and never-ending. And it all seems insurmountable when you have no energy. I seem to be having an energy crisis lately; it is NOT a good time of year to find myself running out of oomph.
Spent a considerable amount of time last couple of evenings trying to get the stupid windows 10 updates sorted out. I uninstalled my Avast because of the issues Avast users were having when the updates were loaded. (They are stupid, for me. If given the choice, I would have passed on pretty much every "improvement" they rammed down my throat. Which is why they don't give anybody a choice anymore.) So I went in and disabled what I could, hid what I could, and I guess will have to learn to live with the rest.
And now I gotta go mow the friggin' lawn.

Reading:Finished "The Enchanted Castle" (1907), by E. Nesbit. Very enjoyable. On the Nesbit continuum, this was somewhere in the middle, between the more realistic stories about the Bastables and the flat-out fantasy stuff. Basically, it has intelligent, imaginative kids playing by themselves--but it has a little magic, too.
Now reading "Ann Boyd" (1906) by Will N. Harben, which is about a stubborn, independent woman who is a lonely outcast in her rural community. Not a light-hearted book, but it is really holding my attention.

Listening: Cold War Kids, Jackson Browne, The Record Company, Amy Winehouse.

Inked Up: The Bexley 10th/Binder Burgundy (mixed a fresh vial of BB on Friday), Conklin Duragraph fine nib/Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown, one of my old Bülow X450s/Graf von Faber-Castell Stone Grey.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com