rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















dog paws, mothers day, and stuff
May 14, 2018, 7:38 P.M.

I missed last Wed and Thu at work, due to the dog having a rampaging outbreak of the infected foot sores that come from his allergies. Wednesday, I had to take him to the vet and have the mess examined, and Thursday, I had to get the vet to change his antibiotic, because every dose we gave him made him throw up. And this was on top of him just being there on Saturday for shots. (yeah, none of that was what you would call "cheap".)

We had a great winter, but as soon as the pollen started up, kablooie. Now he has to have his feet wiped and dried and sprayed with topical meds every time he comes in the house.


Spouse took me out for Mothers Day brunch at the Polish Center in Franklin; apparently he felt I deserved it for being such a devoted dog mom to our high-maintenance pooch. Or else he just really wanted to go have a great buffet. (yeah, that was probably it.)

Everything was lovely and delicious, but he had to go and shoot my mood back down by making plans that were like the exact opposite of my ideas--and then bailing on them halfway through.

That sounds complicated, but let me explain: He said he needed to find somethign called Prague Powder #1, which is curing salt. I googled, found that they have it at The Spice House, and said--HEY! How about we take the train down to Evanston, and walk over and pick some up? The Spice House is only a block from the train station.

Well, of course, I have no authority whatever to make a plan like THAT. HE is the one in charge of making those sorts of plans. So he immediately contradicted me, and said since we are going to Franklin for brunch, we should go to one of the Spice House locations in Milwaukee. I rolled my eyes, said whatever, and promptly disengaged. After all, I'm not the one who is taking up charcuterie as a hobby, and I don't really give a hoot where he buys his supplies.

So fast-forward to Sunday--we leave the Polish center after our lovely brunch, and make the drive into Downtown Milwaukee. First, we go past the Public market Location--oh, looks like the parking lot is full; better go to the 3rd St shop! More driving through Downtown, and him going the opposite direction of where I'm pointing (I fucking swear, it's pathological with him.), turning around, and finding the place--and deciding he's just going to skip it because there isn't anywhere to park at that location, either.

So after doing me out of what I wanted to do, and driving MILES out of our way, and burning (MY CAR'S) gas, and generally being a dick, we turned around and headed back home.

Where I got to spend the rest of "my" Mothers Day frantically trying to get the (hip-high) back yard picked up (dog mess) and mowed before yet another round of rainstorms set in.

Oh, yeah--did I mention it's been raining for a week and I'm ready to die?

And one other thing I should mention--I wanted to just go for broke and mow the front, too, while we were at it, but guess who shot THAT idea down, too?
I was in a crappy enough mood Sunday without any of his shenanigans. My beloved uncle passed away on May 13, 2012--which was ALSO Mothers Day. So it was a sad 6th anniversary of that horrible day. I was able to make my cousin a tiny bit happy, though, by letting her know I remembered. With having to focus on her mom because it was MD again, she didn't get much chance for a bit of mourning and remembrance yesterday. I put a picture of me with Uncle up on my wall and noted that I miss him every day, and he's always in my heart. She picked up on that right away. I think she was pleased that somebody else was feeling it yesterday, too.
Spouse did manage to please me once, yesterday--in a schadenfreude-ish sort of way.

After all the crap he gave me two months ago over my phone dying (he was convinced that there was nothing really wrong with it--I was just being a whiny, greedy baby who wanted a shiny new toy), HIS phone crapped out and died on him. HAH!

He's stopping tonight after work to get a new phone.
I talked to my dad on Saturday afternoon. He called and we had a nice chat. He has taken to volunteering at the food pantry twice a week, and I was delighted to hear it. He is a person who needs something on his calendar to give shape to his week. It sounds like he's really enjoying it.

And he has taken to making walking sticks in his woodworking shop; he gave one to one of his brothers who said his doctor had advised him to get one. This uncle would have used an old broom handle if he hadn't scored a freebee from my dad-- he is a notorious tightwad.

So he's doing pretty well, I was glad to hear from him. (He must have recovered from his hernia surgery, if he's volunteering to stock grocery shelves!)
So anyway, that's my entry for this week. Reading back through it, I am apparently not as depressed as I thought I was, because I'm never that pissed off when I'm really depressed.

Well, maybe I'm just tired. Been up since two-ish, when the latest round of continuous thunderstorms came rolling through. Glad I got it off my chest and onto the page, though. And rainy, dark commute, the long, crazy, busy workday, and the drive home didn't do anything to make me feel less tired. Damn, I hope I can sleep tonight.

Reading:I set aside "Suzanna Stirs the Fire" (1915), by Emily Calvin Blake. Even in short chunks, it was just too weird. I'm just getting started with "The Enchanted Castle" (1907), by E. Nesbit. I don't feel like I've read this one before; nothing is feeling familiar, but at the same time I'm surprised that I haven't, and still suspect I may have read it once.

Listening: Cage the Elephant, The Ramones, Smashing Pumpkins, Ingrid Michaelsson.

Inked Up: The Bexley 10th Anniversary with custom italic nib/Stipula Sapphron (which I managed to spill most of when filling the pen--good thing it was A: just a sample and B: done over a paper towel!) Conklin Duragraph fine nib/Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown, and--IT'S A FLIPPING MIRACLE--I have FINALLY gotten the Noodler's Konrad to write!!!! Not well, it's true. Hard Starts, and skipping here and there. And not at all when I try to get the nib into an actual, "flexing" position. But the (Waterman Tender Purple) ink is actually flowing through the feed, and that is something I honestly thought I'd never see. Spouse was happy; it was a gift from him and he always felt guilty for buying me a pen that wouldn't work.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com