rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















chicken joy
September 11, 2017, 8:48 P.M.

We drove into the city and visited the Seafood City store and the Jollibee over the weekend. Although the temptations of an Asian market are many and varied, we didn't buy much other than some nice chicken and beef, some fresh fruit and some sauces--they had a great selection of Bulgogi sauces, and--dear to Spouse's heart from his Air Force days--they had Filipino banana ketchup! He was happy to find that. He's going to treat me to something grilled on a stick and serve it with the ketchup.

As for the Jollibee, after hearing about this chain for years, we were excited to get to try it for ourselves. They have a varied menu, but we decided to try the "Chicken Joy" fried chicken. Although there is no option for white meat (all legs and thighs), it was quite good, and they drop chicken to order, so it was very fresh. Spouse got the 3 pc/1side meal with the mashed potatoes, and I got the 2 piece, 2 sides meal with steamed rice and corn, and one of their peach-mango fried pies. Both orders came with a little tub of gravy.

Wow. WHAT a lunch! The chicken was awesome, the mashed potatoes were real, the steamed rice was perfection, the gravy was like we used to get at KFC when we were kids, and even the (real) buttered corn was good! And don't get me started on the superb deliciousness of that peach-mango pie. Or the drink option I went for--fresh pineapple juice! Seriously. The last time I had fried chicken with rice & gravy and peach pie was in the South--and it wasn't even this good.

Next time--and I'm pretty sure there will be one--I intend to try their Aloha-Burger, which is a bacon double-cheeseburger with fresh pineapple and honey-mustard dressing. It is supposed to be quite the killer.


Sunday was the real 'day off'--husband-free! I got up early to see him off, and then the B and I crawled back in bed for a snuggle and a nap.

It was a beautiful day, but I was simply not in the mood to go outside. I spent the morning in my nightie, before showering and making the big change to a pair of shorts and a teeshirt--and nothing else. I am always more productive in my jammies, so why not roll with it?

I made a small omelet and toast, which I shared with B, since he seemed to think a hot Sunday breakfast was in order. Then I did some housework and all the outstanding laundry, but I still had time to relax and read. I had declared it a "no-bake weekend", but I did make a lasagna for dinner that came out very well. That was dinner tonight as well, since even a small pan is good for four generous servings.

Had the dad call: he told me of his computer woes that cost him $125.00 to get cleared up (old people click on everything, and he got ransome-wared.). The real reason he called was to brag, though. And he had cause--he celebrated his 81st birthday by doing a 5K walk! Bless his heart, he is committed to staying active, mobile and fit. He was especially proud that the woman who won the women's 5K run took the time to congratulate him, and that the crowd at the finish line cheered when he finished. He finished quite respectably, I think--3.2 miles in 1 hour, 34 minutes. And that was with a 15-minute break at the halfway point. I am quite proud of him!

When Spouse got home, I had already gotten dinner to a good point; the salad was made, the garlic butter was mixed up, and I was assembling the lasagna. While he went on his laptop to do some stuff for school, I finished the lasagna, then washed up the prep stuff, and at that point dinner was mostly done, other than to bake the lasagna and toast some garlic bread. I told Spouse he could finish the garlic bread as his contribution to dinner, which he was happy with, since it wasn't much work but he could still feel he helped. I didn't care if I did it, but it made him feel better so whatever.

It was still too early to finish and serve dinner, but it was time to put the flea and tick goop on the dog again, so we tackled that. Last month, when we did it for the first time, it was a big old mess because we hurried it. My poor B ended up with a big sticky patch in his fur. So this time, we watched a vet's office video on Youtube, then we went out in the yard where the light was good, and sat down in the lawnchairs with him between us, got his hair well-parted, and took our time. It went much better this time.
I really need to quit eating like I have been and get back on track. I have been trying to step up my game exercise-wise, but I have been failing miserably when it comes to keeping myself to a good eating plan. Last week and today; I did three laps around our grounds at work before I punch in, and then walking on the treadmill at lunchtime (except for Friday, I only got in 15 minutes on the treadmill due to schedule and rain, but still, I made sure I managed to do something), so I am doing pretty well on that end. I have been toying with the idea of doing a 5K walk myself, and now that Dad has lapped me, I really need to get on that!
Ugh. I'm tired, & ready for bed. I actually would have slept well last night, I think--except for the DAMNED SKUNKS. Ugh. I had my fan in the window last night, and was awakened at 2:44 by that wretched stink. Peed, took the fan out, and managed to get back to sleep--only to have B get the night terrors and wake me up again. I can't help but wonder if the smell didn't trigger memories of his

unfortunate encounter

and give him nightmares.
THURSDAY, 9/14 UPDATE: He already lost that new job. I knew he wasn't going to be able to do that kind of work. Honestly I don't know what the fuck we're going to do.





Reading: "Sheila of Big Wreck Cove; A Story of Cape Cod" (1921), by James A. Cooper

Listening: The National, Portugal. The Man, Elvis Costello, Mondo Cozmo.

Inked Up:The Bexley 10th Anniversary, re-loaded with Iroshizuku Yama-Budo, the Jin-Hao X750, with Iroshizuku Kon Peki, the Conklin Duragraph with Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown, and my new Hero 616, also loaded with Yama-Budo. My order just came today, and I'm smitten. What a great pen, for the price. I already love writing with it, and I hope it holds up. Funny story: I get home and find two packages: a sturdy box lined with air-pillows, and a padded envelope. Guess which one had the glass bottle full of expensive ink, and which one had the cheap Chinese pen?

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com