rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















hard labor
October 17, 2016,

I don't think there is a single part of my body that isn't in pain today. Spouse and I spent the weekend working on getting the house "company clean", and we are both practically crippled from it. But the ceilings, walls, floors, counter-tops, appliances, furniture, and knick-knacks in our house are bearing a gleaming testimony to our labors, which is gratifying. (For about five minutes. Then we start looking around and seeing all the shit we still need to do!)

It's our own damn fault, of course, for letting the place get so out of hand. But as working, commuting people who want to enjoy their limited time off, we admittedly set a low priority on deep cleaning.

Sure, we keep the kitchen pretty clean, and we vac, dust, change bedding, do laundry, clean up the bathroom, etc. on a regular basis. But there comes a time when that isn't going to be enough. When curtains and rugs need laundering, and baseboards need dusting, and floors can no longer be put off with a quick sweep & swiffer, but must be SCRUBBED. When counters and walls of the kitchen must be cleared off and scoured. When the shower doors need to be taken off and cleaned with lime remover. When light fixtured need to be dusted and washed. When the windows need to be washed.

And that time, my friends...was this weekend. And continues into the next couple of evenings, and a good chunk of Wednesday--because there's no way I'll be ready until (if I'm lucky) it's time to go get her at the airport.

Plus I baked a loaf of pumpkin bread for a work birthday, did all the regular laundry, and sprayed for ants, and Spouse made a couple of really good meals (breakfast casserole, roast pork & stuffing), framed & hung some artwork, and repaired a plumbing leak.

And we did some a bit of shopping for the house; we went to BB&B for some new cocktail glasses, and we bought a new bedside rug for Spouse's room. We looked for some new curtains, but didn't find anything we liked well enough to commit to. So I just washed his old ones, and they came out looking surprisingly good, considering their age, initial cheapness, and the B's unmistakable influences. We will keep looking until we find something he likes.

It's always a struggle. He has a terrible time getting his mind around how much stuff like that costs, and I couldn't get him to entertain a price range with decent drapes and a nice selection. I was surprised he was willing to spend twelve bucks on a poster frame for his Canadian Pacific travel poster. And oh, the glassware! I wanted to get something nice, but not too expensive--say, 5-10 bucks per glass. Mister Pickypants wanted high style, for bargain basement prices. I managed to locate a tasteful compromise; BB&B had a four-pack of classic (straight-sided, heavy-bottomed) doubles for $9.99.

Which is perfectly okay, because I admit I would not be happy with taking my good ones out to the backyard. (Waterford crystal, and a wedding shower gift from my maid of honor!)


Cuz gets in at 3:30 on Wednesday, and we have plans to take her to the City on Friday, with some local sight-seeing and a possible trip to an orchard on Thursday. No doubt we will be doing some cooking, too; she thinks Spouse is an amazing cook. (And since I'm the baker, I plan on baking a blackberry pie on Tuesday evening.)

If is sounds like we are going to an awful lot of trouble--well, she's worth it. We feel very lucky and excited to have her--this is a first, her coming to stay with us. Spouse and I are so very fond of her, we have been plotting all kinds of ways to indulge her. She adores baths, and since her house is showers-only, I have been teasing her with thoughts of luxurious soaks in a real bathtub. So when I was shopping the other day, I bought a huge bottle of lavender-chamomile bubble bath to put next to the tub.

I also picked up a pretty little begonia plant for her room, and Spouse fixed up a little cut-glass dish with Dove chocolates in it to put on the dresser next to the plant. And he bought a new fire pit, wood, and fire-starters so we can have (weather permitting) "bourbon and bonfires" in the evening. Hence the need for some new "rocks" glasses, and for a bottle of premium bourbon--as opposed to the Kirkland Signature (Costco) stuff we keep for "everyday". (He bought a bottle of Maker's Mark 46, which is supposed to be good, top-shelf stuff.)
Well, enough blather. I need to get off my achy ass and on my achy feet, and get some more stuff scratched off the "to-do" list!





Reading: "The Golden Bird" (1918), by Maria Thompson Daviess

Listening: Vampire Weekend, Phantogram, Arctic Monkeys, Cage the Elephant.

Inked Up: I had a pen-cleaning session the other day, and when I'd finished, I had one left inked--the always inked Conklin Duragraph fine nib, of course. So I filled my Levenger Facets (nib is a fat fine) with Pelikan 4001 Königsblau (Royal Blue), and inked up the Pilot Metro (nib is thin medium) with its favorite companion ink, R&K Solferino. The Pelikan Royal Blue is a boring ink, and not all of my pens like, it, but it seems well-behaved in the Facets--if a little on the dull side. Good combo for work. And yes, that is a mere THREE pens inked. I'm exercising a little self-control and not inking more than that. the total count of the clean-up was five pens, and that was too many.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com