rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















where have I been?
October 11, 2016

Not much in the way of posting, lately. I've been screamingly overloaded at work, and although I took a couple days off and gave myself a four-day weekend for my birthday, I was not in the mood to type up a post.

I got my usual 4th quarter screw-over at work (it came early this year!), being pulled sideways into testing somebody else's project at the last minute, despite having my own full plate. And it was a mess, of course. But you do what you're told to do, right? At least, as much of it as you can.


I enjoyed my time off. I spent Thursday morning baking a devil's food cake, making a seedless raspberry filling from scratch, whipping up buttercream frosting, and assembling all that into a bespoke birthday cake for my hubs. When I asked him the week before what kind of birthday cake he wanted, he told me very specifically that he wanted exactly that cake, because that is what his family always had for birthday cakes when he was growing up--his mom always ordered them from Village Bakery in Chicago. (We didn't cut it till Friday, but holy shit--is it ever good!)

And for dinner on Thursday night, I made him a home-cooked, no shortcuts favorite meal: meatloaf, mashed potatoes and scalloped corn.

When I wasn't blissfully geeking out on the kitchen--or cleaning up after my various geek-outs in the kitchen--I pretty much lazed around the house in my nightgown, reading, and puttering on the internet. I had good intentions, but I was really tired, and as restorative as all that cooking and baking and potwashing was to my spirit, it still wore me out!
On Friday (the mutual birthday), I got up early, enjoyed being lazy over coffee and toast, and got cleaned up to go out, since I had a hair appointment at 9:30.

After I got my hair and brows done, I indulged in a little shopping. I poked around the little resale shop I like, and found a perfectly scrumptious little black Nine West handbag for $6.99--looks like new, and it is the perfect size and style for weddings, funerals, and other tasteful and subdued occasions.

Then I went over to Meijer, because I needed a couple of things for around the house--and ended up getting myself two new tops, a new purse, and some wall art for my bedroom.

OH, hell. It was my birthday. I deserved it. Not to mention the fact that the tops were 30% off ($18.20 apiece!), the purse was on sale too (Rosetti bag, MSRP $60.00, down to $24.50!), and the wall art was a STEAL at a mere $7.45.

SO.
Two GREAT tops for work, a luscious bag in a rich deep burgundy for fall, and TWO canvas wrap paintings of poppies (fit my theme and colors perfectly!) for $68.35.

Just because I'm worth it, doesn't mean I don't appreciate a bargain!

Once I got home on Friday, I made some mac & cheese for lunch, changed over to my new burgundy purse, and did a load of laundry before taking a nap with the B. When I got up, I treated myself to a rare afternoon coffee, read for awhile, then got ready to go out, since Spouse was picking me up to go for our Birthday dinner.

I wore one of my new tops--burgundy and black print, with a burgundy scarf. And we went to Mason's Pub and Eatery; a newish place in town. I think the people who opened the Tilted Kilt franchise realized that it wasn't going to work out, so they re-opened as this place, with really good, fresh-made pub food, lots of beers on draft, and a low-key sports bar vibe. The food was very good quality, not too expensive, and super-fresh, and the service was excellent. Since it was our first time, we took a baseline--Spouse had a cheese & sausage pizza, and I ordered a plain cheeseburger. Both were outstanding. I had a draft cider, which was yummy but perfectly enormous, and spouse tried a couple of different specialty beers which were very good. We'll probably find ourselves going there again.

After dinner, we came home, fielded some happy birthday phone calls, opened our birthday card, and had birthday cake. Damn, I'm good. He absolutely loved it.
On Saturday, I got up early and took some puff pastry and the leftover raspberry filling, and made strudel puffs for breakfast. They came out pretty damn good, too. And after coffee and fresh-baked pastry, we went to do a little shopping before coming home and buckling down to some yardwork (him) and housework (me).

We chilled out for a while in the afternoon, with naps all around. And for dinner, the birthday spoiling continued, with me filling his request for pigs in a blanket. Specifically, Oscar Meyer wieners, wrapped in Pillsbury crescent roll dough. And Ore-Ida french fries, of course. Another childhood throwback, and another example of his mom's "cooking", LOL. Meh. He was happy, and it was edible. More cake, of course, for dessert.
On Sunday, I slept in a bit, and Spouse made breakfast--sandwiches with SPAM & egg (and cheese, for mine) on English muffins--and hash brown patties. Pretty tasty! While I did the dishes and gave the kitchen its Sunday cleaning, Spouse went out and started the main project of the day--closing down the pool. As soon as I finished in the kitchen, I threw on some grubbies and went out to help. It went extremely well this year. No tempers lost, and we had it all done by 10:45. After ten years, we may have finally gotten the hang of it!

We cleaned up and ran out to handle a few errands--gassing up and washing the Chevy, and making a food donation to the Shalom Center--and then came home for a peaceful afternoon/evening. Spouse made a lovely Sunday dinner of baked ham with a cherry-bourbon glaze, mashed potatoes, and carrots, while groomed the dog, ran the vacuum, and ordered a new blade for the lawnmower. Just a pleasant winding down of a very nice birthday weekend.

And since I had no expectations for MY birthday, and I spent a considerable amount of time and effort on HIS--he couldn't ruin it for me this year. Really, I consider it a wonderful gift to get the opportunity to spend hours in the kitchen, concocting a delightfully fiddly birthday cake from scratch, and to have the time and money and opportunity to take myself shopping, so I feel well-satisfied. And when I came back to work today, they had a nice food day for my birthday, which was sweet of them.

I guess the best way to have people observe your birthday is to give up having them!

One funny note--since I set my birthday up as private on FB, I got very few HB messages. One from my oldest bestie, (who sent me a message, rather than putting it on my wall. One from my dearest bestie, which was nice, considering I completely blew off her birthday last week. And I heard from two of my least favorite people (SSIL and Nephew & Niece's so-called father) as well. Yay.

Frankly, I am not feeling too warm towards any of my oldest and dearest right now. This political mess has a sweet, churchy, grandmotherly type I've known my whole life (LITERALLY. As in "we were in the hospital nursery together when we were born") posting the most hate-filled, narrow-minded, bigoted vile filth you've ever seen in your life. A gentle, sweet farmer, pillar of the community, posting that every policeman in America should be allowed to punch Colin Kaepernick in the throat for not being respectful enough. (I know. I didn't even know where to begin with that one, either.)

I genuinely fear for the future of this country, no matter who wins. If the malignant narcissist wins, we're doomed from the top. If he loses, his followers are whipped into such a frenzy that they are liable to do anything. The last three decades of toxic reporting, divisive political machinations, and widespread dumbing down are coming to their logical, tragic fruition. As one FOOF put it, "I don't know what I fear more--the fact that Trump could end up in the White House, or that the people who want him there live on my street."
I honestly don't even know if it is worth going for my annual physical, since I honestly don't think any of us has a future. I got one unpleasant surprise this weekend that has Spouse pushing for me to do it, but I just don't know.

(Two years and two days after the onset of my last menstrual period, I am having discharge.) General consensus online is "get your fanny to the doctor", but I don't even care anymore.

Although I am feeling a bit better, one month in to weaning off the Zoloft. I just ratcheted down to 25mg/day, and figure I'll be free by the end of the month. I already feel more focused and alert, my motivation is coming back, and with the exception of some SEVERE gastrointestinal issues, I seem to be doing okay in the side effects department, and my mood has improved, generally speaking, instead of getting worse.





Reading: "Rose of Old Harpeth" (1911), by Maria Thompson Daviess

Listening: RHCP, Hozier, Dinah Washington, BoDeans

Inked Up: No time for much pen stuff lately. I've got--let's see--Conklin Duragraph/Pelikan Brilliant Brown, Monteverde Artista/J. Herbin Lierre Sauvage (Wild Ivy Green), and Nemosine Singularity/R&K Blu Mare inked right now. They are all probably due for a clean-out and/or refill.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com