rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















the curse of January
February 01, 2016

I would love, just once, to make it through January without getting sick. Came down with a cold on Friday night, and I'm feeling crappy. Oh, well. Nothing one can do about it, I guess.

Came home on Friday, still feeling rather decent, and treated the B to a nice walk in the sunshine. It was cold, but clear, and he seemed to really enjoy it. Once we came home, I had a little lunch, did some wash, and lay down for a nap. I could already feel the cold working itself up at that point, and my hinder was dragging.

Assuming that Spouse would, as usual, want to go out to dinner, I got up, showered, dressed, and made myself presentable, although I was starting to really feel pretty punk. Well, as soon as he came in, I could see he was worn out, so I was off the hook. Ordered sandwiches delivered, and we both took it easy. I tried to get some CDs to rip, so I could load them on my new Walkman, but something was hosed up and I was not in any shape to resolve it. And suddenly, my whole computer was hosed up and slower than dirt. I threw in the towel and went to bed.


Saturday was the usual, dragging our sorry butts around getting all of our chores and errands done. When we got home, I changed out Spouse's bedding, worked on the wash a bit, baked a cake, and set up my new dish drainer that I got at Costco. It's really nice, and although I thought I'd spent a lot for a dish drainer ($24.99!!)--it is a Sabatier, and goes for between $40 and $70, retail. It is stainless steel and black plastic, with a built-in drain board, built like a tank, you can adjust the size, it has an optional rack for hanging stemware, and it's "more capacious as an elephant's scrotum".

This might seem like a lot to say about a mere dish drainer, but I am kind of quirky in that department--the one I chucked out on Saturday dated from the late 1970s. It has seen a good few years of service in my parents' house before Mom chucked it into my "hope chest" box. It was the only dish drainer I've ever had in over three decades of marriage!! Although I've known for years that I needed to replace it, I simply could never find one as good, even as time and abuse took their toll, decade after decade, and it was worn to a mere shadow of its former harvest gold self.

But now? We have a winner. I think I'm in love!!

Spouse tried out a new pressure cooker recipe for dinner--he made chili. It was really good, even with my crud I could really taste and enjoy it. He isn't big on chili, so it was really something special he did for me. He enjoyed the cooking, and I really enjoyed the eating! I portioned out and sealed the leftovers in individual servings, for my Friday lunches. I gave the Media Player issues another whack, and even though my laptop was still super-slow, I eventually managed to sort out the ripping problem and get some music onto my Walkman. Unfortunately, it took about two hours to rip five CDs!
On Sunday morning, I was a nice wifey and made Spouse bacon, eggs, and toast for breakfast. He had a haircut appointment at 10:00, so we had a leisurely breakfast, and watched the Cooking Channel for a while, then I did the dishes and finished the laundry.

When he went out, I showered, had some quality time with pen maintenance, and dug out more old CDs to put on the Walkman, since it is 16 gig and can hold nearly everything I have. We both read for a while, then took a nice nap in the afternoon, and I felt quite proud of myself for doing some self-care: taking it easy, taking my cold medicine when I should, doing things I actually enjoyed, just for me, and getting some rest to help me over this crap.

He got up while I was still napping, and made dinner. He did a pork loin roast, with the spare pan of stuffing from last week, and more glazed carrots (he's working on perfecting his recipe, so we've been having those a lot lately). Simple, but done to perfection and absolutely delicious. And he made enough for two meals, so tonight was the same again. When I cleaned up the kitchen, I laid the all of the leftovers out in one pan, covered it with foil, and bunged into the fridge. So tonight, all that was necessary was to pop it into the oven to warm. Blessed are the Sunday leftovers, because Mondays are a biatch.

After dinner, I was determined to get to the bottom of why my laptop had slowed to a crawl, and after some mucking about, I got it resolved. Turns out ALL the problems I had with the computer this weekend were a result of installing the software for the Walkman. It changed a bunch of my settings and once I got them changed back, things were back to normal.

So that's the very uneventful and laid-back weekend of me and the Spouse. Boredom personified.





Reading: "Tomorrow's Tangle" (1903), by Geraldine Bonner. I'm still in the prologue, and already one of the characters has had her son die, given birth to a daughter, and been sold to a gold miner for a team of horses by her bigamist husband!

Listening: Vance Joy, Houndmouth, Cage the Elephant, Sublime

Inked Up: Changed the Monteverde Artista over to Noodler's Apache Sunset, Filled the Delta Serena with Monteverde Burgundy, still have the R&K Solferino loaded in the Pilot Metro (no idea how much, because squeeze converters are opaque), and the Conklin Duragraph should go without mentioning by this time.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com