rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















new toys
September 15, 2015

Spouse and I both got to gratify ourselves with hobby-related stuff this week; I got a .8 mm stub nib FP (more on that later), and Spouse got a potato ricer and a Foodsaver vacuum sealer.

I actually got the pen because he wanted to order the ricer from Amazon, and needed to pad the order to get free shipping. So he threw in some stuff from my wish list. The box came Friday, so I figured that he would be satisfied for the weekend. WRONG. When we went to Costco on Saturday, he had a sudden need to check on Foodsaver machines. Intuition was working for him, I guess, because they had a very decent model going for $60.00 (a $20.00 markdown). They also had one going for over $200, but frankly, neither of us could see the value in the more expensive model. He's been wanting one for a long time, and it seemed like the ideal time to pick one up. Later, when we looked at Meijer, the same model was $89.99, so we got a very good deal.

I just wish we had more room for stuff like that--everything you contemplate bringing into a tiny house needs serious consideration. And while it is far from the biggest model, it's a pretty big unit.


What wasn't such a good deal at Costco was what happened in the optical department. I stopped in to get my glasses tightened up. Nothing major, just a couple quick turns of the screwdriver.

Well, the optician insisted on doing a full adjustment, and re-shaping the temples. Which came out fitting very well, and I would have been incredibly pleased--if she hadn't managed to destroy the lenses in the process. She must have gotten them too hot, because the anti-reflective coating crazed, completely ruining them. She ordered another set of lenses, and will call when they're ready. I'm wearing my old pair for now, which is giving me a headache.
For those keeping score, this would be the SECOND set of frames and the THIRD set of lenses. In ten weeks. Which kind of makes me happy, because there's a good chance that one of these days I will be in a position to throw a major fit, get my money back, and take my business elsewhere--somewhere where they can prescribe, fill, frame, and fit with a degree of skill.
The only reason I haven't already is because it's hard to do that when all the employees are so absurdly NICE. Do you have any idea how frustrating it is when the customer service is exemplary--with the one small exception of being able to get the product right? It makes a customer feel like an unreasonable beast to complain.
Okay, more on the pen. Nemosine Fission. Things I like: Pen size(M/L), color ("classic" blue, which is a very nice baby blue), screw cap--it screws on both when closing AND when posting. Came with a very nice converter. Metal construction, beautiful butterfly chasing on the nib.
Things I don't like: how it writes. Way too dry for a stub, and it takes an absurd amount of pressure to get the ink down. It leaves me with a sore arm, and tends to pick up paper fibers--quite a trick on a RednBlack pad. It actually works better on the cheap Office Max legal pad and the abysmal copy paper at work. But it doesn't have an appreciable amount of line variation, and I loaded it with the normally gorgeous R&K Blu Mare, but it looks washed out, and I got no shading at all.
I think I'm disappointed. But all is not lost--Nemosine has a very good customer satisfaction promise, and I am thinking of sending it to them for tuning.
Spouse had better luck with his toys. He used the ricer to make mashed potatoes last night (to go with the turkey breast, stuffing, gravy and carrots he made for dinner), and they were damned tasty. As for the vacuum sealer, he really went to town on that. He sealed up steaks, a pot roast, the leftover corned beef, and even went so far as to make a special trip to the grocery store and buy fresh sweet corn and green beans, then come home and process, seal & freeze them! He's quite taken with it.
We stopped at the Farmer's Market on Saturday, since it was a completely gorgeous day. Picked up some special dog treats, some apples, and a lovely bunch of dahlias. I did a little shopping for myself yesterday; we went to F&F for Spouse, but he had no luck finding the teeshirts he was looking for. I, on the other hand, snagged FOUR really nice piqué polo shirts, on clearance for $8.88 each. Coral, Hazelnut, Turquoise, and Royal Blue. And a new pair of Lee blue jeans. And a really cute porcelain soap dish for the kitchen (I gave Spouse my old plastic one to use in the shower, and never got around to getting another) in the shape of a leaf--marked down from $14.99 to $1.44. Rather pleased with all that.
When I was off work with the B last Tuesday, I got one of my weird spells that I get when I'm home on a weekday--I ended up building a DYI lightbox for taking photos of stuff (pen stuff, really). Cardboard box, roll of baking parchment, box cutter, tape, and some old lamps. AND IT WORKED!!! YouTube how-to videos, I love you!!

It wasn't a complete success, however, because I did it entirely out of stuff I had in the house, and I am sorely lacking in good lighting. Well, I was lacking, but not anymore. I stopped at Meijer to get a couple things on my way home today, and picked up one of those cheap utility clamp lights with a reflector shade, and a 150 watt bulb. Only one on my budget this week, though; $6.99 for the light and another $3 for the bulb, just to chase my tail, seems like a lot. Eventually, I'll pick up a couple more, and that should set me up nicely. Also, I need to get out some duct tape and really secure the parchment, because cellotape does NOT stick well to baking parchment, LOL. I am already thinking up different ways to rig my lighting, so I can get the most out of it.

I'm so strange.
Well, I feel like I've rattled on enough, so I'll just say one thing more--the B is recovered from his indisposition, and is feeling fine.

Reading:
"The Brightener" (1921), by C. N. Williamson and A. M. Williamson (Actually just by A.M., but in her preface she explains why she cannot bear to leave her late husband's name off the book. Brought a touch of mist to my eye, actually.)

Listening:
Bruce Springsteen, Van Morrison, Dobie Gray, Todd Rundgren

Inked Up:
The above-mentioned Nemosine/Blu Mare combo.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com