rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















sick dog
September 09, 2015

The B got sick after his doctor's appointment on Saturday; spent Sunday through Tuesday dealing with that. Shampooing carpets multiple times, letting him in and out dozens of times a day, cooking special food for him, washing his backside, taking him back to the vet, shoving pills down his poor little throat, and administering lots of mommy sympathy and affection to my poor pooch. I called in on Tuesday because there was no way we were going to be able to crate him.

Dr. Shine must have thought is was some kind of parasite, because she put him on Flagyl and Carafate. And, of course, the bland diet. He's on boiled rice, steamed carrots and baked chicken breasts, so of course he's pretty pleased about that. All people food, all the time! Not so pleased about the "no treats or Dentastix" part, though. We shifted him off the fish oil and sam-E supplements temporarily, too--he's just getting his allergy pills and his Soloxine for his thyroid for now. Which, along with the stomach meds, still totals 9 pills a day!

It didn't help matters that Tuesday was full of vicious, boomy thunderstorms; I ended up hanging out in Spouse's room for a while, just because B wanted to hide in the closet, but wanted me nearby, as well. And there's nothing like a dog who is desperately frightened of getting rained on--unless it's a dog who is desperately frightened of getting rained on--and who has a case of the raging runs.


So that pretty much drove the weekend plans; we couldn't stray too far. So we stayed home, did yard work, did house work, cooked, baked, and did some small home rpairs that needed dealing with. Nice and quiet. We meet some friends for drinks and then had dinner at the lodge on Friday, to get some socializing in, and we spent some time on Sunday with Nephew and his wife--we took them to Menards and bought them a new gas can as a housewarming present. (Well, we also threw in the brand new lawn mower to go with it!)

I worked on cleaning out Grandma's dresser. It is kind of a catch-all, and I want to convert it to use as my pen storage. Interestingly, the collar drawer is exactly the right size to hold 8 bottles (30-50ml) of ink. I got the collar drawer and one of the small drawers cleared out--that's enough done to allow me to clear off all the pen stuff that has been piled on top of the dresser for the last several months. Eventually, I'd like to get all my junk distilled down to the bottom drawer, leaving me the collar box, both the small drawers and one of the large ones for pens, inks, paper, and assorted pen-related paraphernalia. She used that dresser for a needlework chest, because that was her passion--so I kind of think Grammy would like the idea of me using her old "bureau" to house something that brings me pleasure and that I feel passionate about.

And Grammy was my role model for the nerdy stuff, so I am pretty sure she would appreciate my hobby. I don't know what I would have done growing up, if I hadn't had my grandmother to let me have my space and follow my bliss. So much of what I enjoy doing, I learned from her. Stereo-typical "grandma" stuff like Jam-making, cooking, needlework, of course. But also the pleasures of kitty-cats, of losing oneself in a book, of collecting, of writing and journal-keeping, of growing flowers, and even my enduring love of vintage ads was born from her massive collection of old magazines.

(Wow. Wonder where all that came from? I guess I really miss Grammy.)



Reading: "In Her Own Right" (1911), by John Reed Scott.

Listening: Dire Straits, Hozier, Queen, Don Henley.

Inked Up: My mottled black Bülow medium nib, with J. Herbin Rose Cyclamen.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com