rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















well, I actually wanted the pen
March 30, 2015, 7:42 P.M.

Is it wrong to be more excited about the Waterman pen I just bought, than the car I just bought?

'Cause I am.

It came on Friday on the same delivery as the loan check, and I think I actually let out a little "squeee" of delight. I'm a little disappointed that it didn't come with a converter, but I'll take care of that. It did come with one cartridge, thank goodness. And it writes beautifully. A lovely, smooth line. This being an inexpensive Waterman, it has a steel nib (fine-point). I love it! And it has a cobalt blue body, transparent (but not really, because it's such a deep color), with teensy little sparkly specks. Light weight, nice balance, cap posts securely, and snaps on when closing. I've heard that this model has a design issue, and can dry up on you, but no problems so far!

And I loaded up a couple of my cheaper pens with my new Pelikan inks ("Königsblau" and Brilliant Red)that came in this order--really happy with the results. I think they do better with a thinner ink. Plus, I want to try and do some ink-blending with the Pelikan colors and try for a purple. Need to find suitable equipment for that, though. Vials, eyedroppers, pipettes, etc.

Last item on this topic, I promise! Finally, the pen thing has fueled my creative side! I'm working on a design for an easy-to-make roll-type pen case I can stitch up on the sewing machine, for protection and easy transport. Feels so good to get my geek on--it's been a long while since I felt the juices flowing.


Umm...so. Yeah, the car. We ran the check over to the bank Friday afternoon, but didn't go get the car right away. That happened on Saturday--we got up and going right away, then ran over to Panera for a little breakfast, did a few errands, and got to the dealership about 9:30. It went pretty quickly; I must have signed my name at least 16 times. (Can you imagine how many times it would have been if I was actually financing?!) Was pleased to learn it had a 3mo/3,000 mile warranty.

Then I drove the Ford home, and Spouse drove the Buick. I jumped in and we went to do the rest of our errands. Once we got home, and were unloading the groceries from the trunk, we made an unexpected discovery...it has remote start! Okay, it went up in my estimation at that point. I've always wanted a car with that feature.

I took some pictures of it, then promptly proceeded to ignore it and get the groceries put away and the laundry done. Spouse moved my tollway pass and parking tag from the Ford and looked over the owner's manual, then switched out the cabin air filter for a new one. Generally petted and preened. I made a small banana cake with vanilla frosting. Then Spouse decided to make up his Salisbury steak meat for Sunday, since it is better if it sits overnight.

Since Saturday was the nicer day of the weekend, we decided to grill. Pork chops with Spouse's homemade sauce, baked potato, and a salad. Simple, and tasty. Then he went off to the bedroom to read, and I did some fountain pen maintenance.

Sunday, we were up and out early again--took the PT over to Spouse's buddy to get the wheel hub replaced. Turns out it was only the tie-rod end, so it was quicker and cheaper. After Spouse got it dropped, I picked him up in the Ford, and we went to breakfast at Danny's, ran to the hardware store, and came home to roost. The weather turned icky--cold and very windy--and I played it lazy, fiddled around the house, read, played games, and napped all afternoon. Spouse made his Salisbury steaks, mashed potatoes & gravy, and peas for dinner. Good, as usual. Not my absolute fave, but pretty tasty. I did the dishes, and got all my staging done for Monday morning, and we spent the rest of the evening just chilling out.

And on Monday, no longer able to avoid the issue--I drove the Buick to work.

It's nice. It's a nice car. Smooth, spacious, well-equipped and well-regulated. A nice, boring, old-people car. In other words...

...it's a Buick.
Well, I'll wrap this up. I need to call Dad, since A) I bought a car, B) He closed on the trailer today and C) tomorrow would have been my mom's 78th birthday, so he's probably kinda down.

Reading:
Sudden detour into a re-reading of Daddy-Long-Legs, by Jean Webster. When that urge strikes, I obey.

Listening:
Bob Dylan, Beck, Green Day, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Alabama Shakes

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com