rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















this is not a food blog, but you couldn't tell from that from recent entries, could you?
November 26, 2014, 8:12 P.M.

First of all--for those who wondered (waving at stepfordtart!), cheesecloth is used in traditional American fruitcake making. Our fruitcakes are dense, heavy things that are full of nuts, raisins (sultanas), and glac� fruit. They aren't iced or coated in marzipan--instead, once the cakes are cooled, they are wrapped in liquor-soaked cheesecloth--brandy or rum, or even bourbon whiskey. Then they are wrapped in plastic or foil, and stored in a cool place for three to eight weeks, which allows them to "cure" and become infused with the booze. I personally unwrap them and pour a bit more liquor over them about once a week, and cure them for three weeks before mailing them to the relatives that ask for them. They live 1,800 miles/2902km away, in Arizona, so by the time they get them they have had about a month to cure.

American fruitcake is kind of a long-standing cultural joke in this country, because of poor-quality mass-produced versions sold by mail-order throughout most of the 20th century. But it is pretty good when it is homemade, from good-quality ingredients. And since I have people I love that love the stuff, I am happy to make it every year for them. They seem to love it, but I have never actually tasted one of my cakes. It is so much work, and the ingredients are so expensive, I don't make one for myself!

The ones I send to Arizona are a highly customized recipe to suit my aunt's taste--a light cake, as opposed a dark, spicy one, extra pineapple, light on the citron, a combination of macadamias and pecans for the nuts, and soaked in Cognac. This year, I am doing a third cake for my brother-in-law that is the dark kind, and I will be soaking that one in rum, because that's what he prefers.


Now--The fudge worked out! And even I thought it was edible; though I didn't care for it, I could tell it was "good". Easy as can be, very quick to make, and not a lot of mess. It took less than half an hour from start through clean-up! I was a little worried when I was putting it into the pan, because it kind of looked like partially melted Tootsie Roll--but after about three hours in the fridge, it was suitably fudge-ish. I cut it into 40 pieces (I made it in a 7" x 11" brownie pan) with a sharp knife, and it cut beautifully. Spouse tasted a sliver, and pronounced it good. So I tasted a bit as well, and--as I said--it was acceptable fudge. He liked it well enough to take half of it to work with him to share with his co-workers, which is a big compliment with him. So I don't mind sharing this recipe. Even though it's for--ugh--fudge.
SUPER-EASY CREAMY CHOCOLATE FUDGE
4 tablespoons butter
12 ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips
6 ounces milk chocolate chips
1-14oz can sweetened, condensed milk
1 teaspoon vanilla


Carefully line a pan with foil--9 x 9 square pan for thicker fudge, 7 x 11 biscuit/brownie-type pan for smaller pieces.
Butter the foil-lined pan well
In a double-boiler (or saucepan over very low heat), combine all ingedients but vanilla. Melt over low heat, stirring frequently, until all ingredients are melted, well combined, and creamy. A heavy silicone spatula is wonderful for this.
When the fudge is glossy, smooth and completely combined, add vanilla and beat well to mix.
Spread fudge evenly in the pan, tapping on counter to release air bubbles. (I laid a sheet of waxed paper over it and pressed it down with my hands to get it well-packed and even.)
Cool in refrigerator for at least two hours. Once cool, remove from pan, using the foil to lift it out. Cut into pieces, and store in an airtight container in the refrgerator. This fudge can sit out for serving, but should be kept in the fridge for long-term storage.
You know what? As I sit here, reflecting on my successful fudge endeavors and various other foodish stuff I have going on, I realize I am in a much better mood than I was the other day. Maybe it's the kitchen-time, maybe it's the buttload of diary-time I'm putting in. Maybe it's the fact that I'm on the cusp of a 4-day weekend. Maybe it is my decision to take a time-out from media--regular and social. But I am definitely feeling more chipper.



Reading: "Miss Billy's Decision", by Eleanor H. Porter and "Busman's Honeymoon", by Dorothy L. Sayers

Listening: Del Amitri, The Cranberries, 3 Doors Down, Collective Soul, Radiohead, Bush

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com