rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















things I don't like for breakfast
9-29-14,

Quaker "Oatmeal to Go", rasberry streusal flavor. Stale and rather gross, since the "raspberries" consist of pieces of fig, flavored and colored. And yet, still tasting quite like figs. Bleah. Like eating a sickly-sweet, oat-studded Fig Newton.

Also, they contain HFCS and soy, which are a big no and no for me. Spouse talked me into them, and I didn't read the label, so shame on me. Special bonus--headache, heartburn and gas.

Tropicana Farmstand "Strawberry-Banana" juice. I forgot my V8 Fusion, and this was the closest thing the cafeteria had. Which would be okay in almost any other flavor--but S-B tastes nasty to me.


Enough complaining. Had a mostly-lovely, quiet weekend. On Friday after work, I had a chat with Daddy, a bowl of chili, and a nap. Spouse came home, and we ran to the store for groceries and picked up some fried chicken for dinner, then came home, put stuff away, made a salad, and ate dinner--and we were done with everything before 7:00, which is amazing. Then a quiet evening, Spouse started and I finished a load of wash, and (despite a prodigious nap) I took an an early bedtime.
Saturday morning, we got up around 6:30, and didn't really hurry to do anything. I threw a pan of cinnamon rolls in the oven, and we relaxed over our coffee. Since my knee is still bothering me, Spouse and I took turns making trips downstairs to do the laundry, instead of me doing it all--and we ended up with several loads done by 9:30. I spent some time puttering around with various small housework tasks, changed out my purse for fall (One of Mom's--a brand new, never-carried saddle-brown slouch. PVC and no-name, but a very nice, useful bag) while Spouse mowed the front and side yards.

Then we got cleaned up and ran a few errands. First off--we met Niece at the shopping center on Green Bay Rd and gave her the KitchenAid. I have never seen her so excited over a gift. She's just over the moon about it. Now both my girls have their mixers, and I hope they have long and satisfying relationships with them. I'm so glad they don't have to wait as long as my mom or I did--they can enjoy them while they are young.

We also ran to Menards for a few things, then took some of Mom's rings to the Jewelry store for estimates. I'm getting the 5-diamond ring Daddy gave her for their 30th anniversary sized up so I can wear it on my right ring finger, and they are going to see if the custom ring made from my mom & grandma's wedding rings can be upsized, or if it will need a complete re-shanking. As for her mother's ring, it will be about $250 to have it repaired, re-set, and re-sized for me. I told Spouse that it would be a nice Christmas present if he wanted to pay for part of it. And I didn't take it in this time, but eventually, I would like to get the Arizona fire agate rehabbed as well.

After that, I popped into the Family Dollar for a gift bow, and then we picked up a couple of things we'd forgotten to get at the grocery store, and went home. Spouse did some prep for dinner--he inaugurated his new meat grinder attachment, and ground some beef for Salisbury steak. Once he had his meat all made up, and I had the last load in the dryer, we all sacked out for a while.

I awoke to the delicious aroma of dinner cooking, and pretty much didn't have to lift a finger. He made his fantastic Salisbury steak, mashed potatoes, and steamed baby peas, with ice cream for dessert. It was simple--but brilliant. I never get tired of telling the world what a great cook he is. Best part? We only ate half the steaks, and I packaged up the other half and froze them. Some weeknight, when we want a substantial-but-easy meal, we'll have them with egg noodles and a steamer bag of veg.

After dinner, I got down on the floor with the B and inspected his paws. He'd been limping all day, and I wanted to find out why. Well, somehow, he'd managed to tear up one of his toe pads on his back/right paw. So I doctored him up. Cleaned it with some pet-safe antiseptic, dusted it with his Neo-Predef & Tetracaine powder, and debated bandaging, but decided against it. He would bother it much more if it was bandaged. Spent the rest of the weekend repeating at intervals. I swear, I no sooner get that dog healed up at one end than he's banged up at the other.
Sunday morning was something of a repeat of Saturday. Spouse made Spam, eggs, hash browns, and English muffins for breakfast, and we both puttered around the house doing little things that needed doing. I cleaned the kitchen floor after I did the breakfast dishes, vacuumed, then took apart the vacuum cleaner gave it a cleaning, hung up/folded/put away the last load of laundry, dusted the living room, cleaned my partial and some jewelry with the ultrasonic cleaner...just a nice, productive power-putter.

When the grass was dry enough, we went out back and did the yard work. Poo-picked, mowed, trimmed, blown, and some general tidying done in abut an hour.

And once that was done, we came in and got our grubby selves cleaned up, put on some nice, comfy clothes--and went nowhere. We had a lazy afternoon. We watched the REAL "Scarface"--1932, Muni, Raft, Dvorak, Karloff--on the DVR, and just hung out. Spouse and the B took a nap, and I did my nails, spent some more time getting to know my phone, putzed around on the internet, had popcorn and an apple for lunch, read my book, and enjoyed myself in a most relaxing way.

Oh, and Spouse signed my phone up for roadside assistance through Verizon. Kind of a cool program, and at $3 a month, pretty affordable. Since it is tied to the phone, not to me or the car, it can be used anytime my phone is present. If I loan the phone to someone, or if I am riding with someone, and there is a problem (gas, tires, tow, battery jump, lockout, or winching) then we can use the service--up to four times a year. Even good for rentals! He figured it was a good deal, so I said go for it. I don't mind the peace of mind a bit!

Dinner was simple; Spouse grilled some brats over charcoal, and we had the good deli potato salad and coleslaw we like. Very tasty, easy cleanup, and Spouse packed the leftovers for his Monday lunch. Another laid-back evening, and
So. That was my easygoing weekend. Unfortunately, not everyone had it so good. My dear cousin (the one with the brain tumor) was in and out of the hospital over the weekend with blood clot issues. It breaks my heart that D has to go through so much--there was never a sweeter, lovelier guy, and his life is so full of pain that it makes me weep. And it takes a toll on his family, too--I know my cousin JE is about worn to the bone, taking care of her own family, and her brother. Not to mention the toll it has taken on his marriage.



Reading: "Dixie Martin, The Girl of Woodford's Ca�on" (1924), by Grace May North

Listening: U2, Coldplay, Arctic Monkeys, Soul Asylum


At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com