rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















anniversary weekend
June 16, 2014

Well, we went out to dinner on Saturday night to celebrate our anniversary. The restaurant we used to love to go to in Cudahy may be closed, but it seems that the owners ended up partnering with another long-established restaurant in Cudahy. The upshot being that the executive chef at the "K Ranch", is Larry from South Woods. And his food is just as good as ever.

Spouse had the prime rib, and I had one of the specials--homemade beef-noodle soup, tossed salad, an 8-oz filet of ribeye with 3 temura-battered jumbo shrimp, and roasted baby red potatoes--for $19.99. Plus a celebratory pint of draft cider (Angry Orchard Crisp Apple). And don't let that price fool you; not only was the steak amazing--the shrimp were perfection as well. Fresh, tender, the tempura batter was light as air. And the service was stellar. We will definitely be going back there again.

As for the rest of the weekend--not a lot happened. We were pretty lazy--I can't say I got much done, over the bare minimum of laundry and dishes and the very lightest of housekeeping. My house is a disgrace, actually. But I just have to be in the right mood to get on the cleaning, and...I'm not.

We did the minimum shopping, as well--I had stopped at Wally's in Zion on the way home on Friday, just to make sure I had enough dog food, and to pick up my stomach pills and a few other things. We hit the Sam's club and the Italian grocery on Saturday, and made another Wally's stop after dinner on Saturday, since there is a new one in South Milwaukee. I added a cotton nightie to my collection--I have one for every day of the week now! And we ran out for some quick grocery shopping on Sunday. I picked up some beef shank--not a cut I usually buy, but I've got a vacation day on Wednesday, and I'm planning on making a Daube a la Provencale with noodles for dinner, since I will have the time.

Our actual anniversary (Sunday) was celebrated by cooking for one another. I made sauage and gourmet french toast for breakfast while he whipped the backyard into shape, and cleaned up the mess while he finished up out in the front. And for dinner, he made one of his marvelous batches of marinara (we went to the Italian grocery on Saturday, and he "went a little nuts", as he put it) with imported penne, with aged parmesan grated over the top. I threw together a nice salad, and we just had it with pane Calabrese to mop up the "gravy". We considered chicken parm or meatballs, but in the end, decided to forego the meat and just enjoy the fantastic marinara on its own. And to drink, I made a pitcher of fresh limeade. We had chocolate cake for dessert (from the bakery), since it was an occasion.


Today wasn't exactly a great day--the hammer fell at work, as we have been expecting. As I expected, I am fine (for now!), but I am losing a couple of co-workers. They actually let one of the middle-management people go, which was a surprise. I'm glad I am not a manager there--they are putting such a heavy, wide-ranging load on them these days.

It's all just so depressing.



Reading: "Now, Voyager" (1941), Olive Higgins Prouty. I finally broke down and bought the e-book; now I just wish I could get the other Vale novels, as well. When you read it, you really get the full effect of it being the middle novel in the series. I always loved the character of Lisa in the movie, and would particularly like to read "Lisa Vale". One thing that rather pleases me, since I pretty much have the film memorized, is how much of the film dialogue was taken straight from the book.

The Vales of Boston series by Olive Higgins Prouty:
The White Fawn (1931), Lisa Vale (1938), Now, Voyager (1941), Home Port (1947), and Fabia (1951).

Listening: Matchbox 20, Collective Soul, Marcy Playground, Train, 3 Doors Down


At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com