rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















happy new year
April 23, 2014

Yep: Happy New Year. Happy new decade, in fact--for this is the 10th anniversary of this online diary. I can't believe I've been in business here, at the same location, for 10 years. It blows my mind.

And I was wondering if I had gotten progressively more bitchy over the years, so I looked up my first actual diary entry, on April 23, 2004...

To find that I was bitching and moaning about things from day one. Well, 1, 317 entries later, at least I'm consistent!


Took yesterday off with a screamer of a migraine--I have been suffering with these a lot lately, and that is pretty unusual for me. I suspect it may be menopause-related. I seem to have some other symptoms at the same time I have one of these, that would only tie together if it was a hormonal thing (stinky pee!) After two cups of coffee and three aspirin, I was able to sit up and watch--finally--the first episode of Mad Men, so I'm only ONE ep behind now. I wanted to watch both, but my head simply wasn't having it.

After having another lie-down, I showered and dressed, just to feel better. Ran to the market with Spouse, because he thought the fresh air would help me, but the bright sun nearly did me in. Needed another dark room respite after. We had tacos for dinner; that's why we ran to the store. Needed carne para tacos, low-sodium taco seasoning, flour tortillas, lettuce, and tomato. Had cheese, sour cream, black olives and fresh lime at home already, to complete the deliciousness. An easy meal, with not too much mess, and we split the labor, so it worked out well.

He still hasn't started this new job; I told him if he can keep it for as long as it takes to get it, we should be ready for retirement! He had an occupational check-up on Monday, and it was pretty thorough, it sounds like. Then yesterday, they called to ask him if he could connect them up with the Japanese company he worked for, because the background check was stalled! He explained that they had ceased operations and gone out of business, but offered to send his separation paperwork, school eligibility paperwork, and W-2 forms as proof of his employment and standing there. He scanned it all and emailed the pdf to them within 30 minutes, so hopefully they were satisfied that it was legit. This place is insanely thorough, I will give them that!

I was back in the office today, even though my headache was still pretty bad. At least I was in good enough shape to drive a car. Crazy busy, too, which always happens. If it is quiet for so much as a day, my boss goes around and volunteers me to fifty different people--who then want me to do everything for them, immediately. Ugh. And between my time off for Easter, my sick day, her time off for Easter, and her work-from-home days, I haven't even seen my boss in a week. At least we touched base on the phone today.

I really need to get my arse in gear and figure out what we will be wearing to this wedding on Saturday--if I can't fit into one of those dresses in the closet, I will be totally screwed. If I do, I will only be screwed re: shoes.And I haven't the first inkling of a clue what Spouse is going to wear, either.

Reading: "The Annals of Ann" (1910), by Kate Trimble Sharber. Just started, but this promises to be a delightful book�presented as the hilariously frank (and frankly hilarious) diary of a young girl who lives with her parents and mammy on a farm in the Deep South. I'd laughed at least a half-dozen times by page three, where this paragraph sealed the deal for me: "Maybe some rainy day, a hundred years from now, a little girl will find this book in the attic, all covered with dust, and will sit down and read it, while the rain sounds soft and pattery on the outside, and her mother calls and calls without getting an answer."

Listening: Vertical Horizon, Gin Blossoms, Alice in Chains, Sublime, Tonic


At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com