rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















priorities
November 11, 2013, 7:22 P.M.

I had a list of stuff I wanted to get done this weekend, but nature intervened once more with some spectacularly splendid autumn weather, and both Spouse and I decided that our top priorities needed to be "getting some work done out back", and "more trips to the park with Mr. B."

I have discovered that by putting B first, I am also putting myself first. He's a great excuse to go play outside. And the mood-elevating effect I get from the combination of sunshine, fresh air, exercise, and watching my dog having the time of his life is just amazing. It's only temporary, but it is great while it lasts.

Today, of course, we are back to business as usual. Cold, gray, SNOWING, and I hate my life.

In addition to the play time, we also got some pruning done, put away the lawn furniture, and got the pool ladder down to the basement. And, of course, the usual moderate amount of housework, errands, the laundry, and some cooking.

Spouse decided that Sunday dinner should be "Kotlety Schabowy" (Polish breaded and fried pork cutlets) with mashed potatoes, gravy, and peas. Now the recipe is pretty basic, but as with breading and frying anything, he had a moderate amount of fuss and mess going on. Fortunately, I was only needed for light KP--potato peeling, gravy mixing, and some of the dishwashing. And it was delicious (if a teensy bit heavy).


Spouse is one week in to his latest job, and seems to feel pretty positive about it, although I know that probably means bupkis. He is already going into his "everything is fine, why should I call for therapy?" His whole family drives me up a wall with that kind of crap. They do nothing to avert a potential crisis, they freak out when there is one, and as soon as the crisis blows over, it is like it never happened. I guess they subscribe to the "leaky roof" theory of life management." If it's raining, you can't fix it, and if it isn't raining, it's not leaking...so why fix it?

Well, he isn't off the hook. I am going to bug him exactly every eight days until he calls them, because I know that is the tightest I can keep the nagging without it backfiring on me. (Tonight is the night.) I also think I need to talk to him about the trick he pulled with Thanksgiving. Not that I mind going to the Pfister with P&E, but I really feel that I should have been at least consulted before he went ahead and made plans--especially when those plans are $52.95 a person, and I am footing the bill.
I actually watched a television program last night; I recorded Friday night's Great Performances, so last night I sat and watched it straight through. It was Stephen Sondheim's "Company", with a sort of hybrid, quasi-concert staging. NPH, Patti LuPone, Stephen Colbert, Christina Hendricks, Anika Noni Rose, Jon Cryer, Martha Plimpton, Craig Bierko...and that's all I can think of off the top of my head, but it was a very good cast. Somehow, I just wasn't blown away, though. Maybe because I just don't think Company was ever that great of a show, and 43 years hasn't done it any favors. Some great songs, but I think the show is too dated to work well anymore.
A bit of spontaneous doggerel that popped into my head after fighting a battle I couldn't win, just to watch a video on Youtube:

I like Google,
I like Chrome,
I even like my Android Phone.
But guaranteed to make me fuss?
When I'm force-fed Google+!
("Don't be evil", they once said.
I guess that line of thought is dead.)




Reading: "Jan and her Job" (1917), by L. Allen Harker. Just started this. So far, A pretty and self-possessed 28-year-old spinster with prematurely grey hair (Jan) has travelled out from England to Bombay , at the behest of her younger sister. Who is broke, ill, depressed, pregnant with her third child, and married to a civil servant who is in some kind of trouble and disgrace--and who seems to have abandoned her and the children. But I am pretty sure that there will be some kind of romance looming for Jan, judging from the frontispiece.

Listening: XTC, Muse, Dawes, Green Day


At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com