rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















this stuff
November 13, 2013

I was listening to somebody talking about how they never "wish the days away" longing for the weekend, or for summer, or vacation, or whatever. They must have a fuck of a lot to live for, or something.


When I was driving home the other day, I had a sort of bitter epiphany--For as far back as I can remember, I have never had an entirely happy day. Even happy days are more of a "Look! Today I can see happiness! Still can't touch it, but at least I can see it" kind of thing. It's like there is a glass wall between me and happiness.
It has been extremely wintry here the last few days; starting with freezing rain and snow, then moving on to temps in the 20s with "real feel" in the teens. Of course, thanks to the freezing rain, the Ford froze up, causing problems with the electric mirrors and the driver's door latch. And it's been frigid in the house; Spouse seems to be fine with a temp of 65, but I am not. I got out the electric blanket, and I need to go to the basement and bring up the portable heater, I guess.
P&E pulled a switch for bird day; now they want to have it at their house. I have no clue what's up with that, but whatever. I did insist that P let us contribute more to the process. He said he would, but it remains to be seen. (I hope he wants a pie. Pie is easy.)
I can't even believe these discussions have started already, but apparently it is time for a brief, pre-Christmas rant on a sore subject.

I ask myself the same thing every year--why is it so impossible for people to wrap their head around the fact that there are those who simply dislike holiday decorating and prefer not to do it? Honestly! I don't like it, I don't have either the time or the space for it, I don't have anyone to come see it, and it would be utterly ridiculous to do much of it.

And I am NOT a grinch! Although I do not observe the religious side, I do respect the cultural aspects of the holiday. I have loads of Christmas traditions that make the holidays meaningful and special. I bake cookies and breads and fruitcakes, I make homemade candies, I send lots of Christmas cards, I listen to seasonal music and even make special Christmas CDs for people, and I participate in Toys for Tots and other charities. I am thoughtful and considerate in my gift-giving. I make a concerted effort to make the holidays a positive thing. I have, in fact, worked extremely hard to overcome all of the unpleasant associations left over from my childhood, and all things considered, I do a pretty good job.

But I don't decorate, so I might as well have horns growing out of my head. (And I can tell you that even if I DID decorate, I would sure as shit wait until after Thanksgiving to do it!)
They finally nailed down the training dates, so I got my travel arrangements booked. At least this trip has bigger planes available. When I go to Pennsylvania, all I get is a cigar- tube-and-slingshot affair, because the airport is so small.

This trip, the boss is going too, so I will have considerably less anxiety. She'll do all the driving. The hotel is a Marriott Towne Place, which is cool; I've stayed in them before and they have studio rooms with a kitchen, so I can have real coffee & cream, plus hot food if I like. And they have a laundry, too. (Not going to be there long enough to worry about that stuff this trip, though--it's only a couple of days.)

I still don't want to go, but as usual, I have no choice in the matter.
Speaking of work...I have been treated to a number of new episodes of "the trials and tribulations of the train wreck across the hall". I told my boss the other day "It isn't so much that she lives her life out loud--it's that the life is such a shambles". This week, she has gone on (on the phone, at length, in full voice) about such diverse topics as "I didn't wear a coat and it's snowing", "my credit card number got stolen", and "I need a fresh turkey that is at least 30 pounds, and nobody has any". Personally, I wouldn't have believed there are enough people who would actually want to have dinner with her to warrant a bird that size, but from what I can hear (everything!), she has an enormous extended family as shambolic as herself.
Took my set of stainless knives to the grocery store with me today--Festival is having free knife sharpening this week, (up to 4, then they are 75 cents apiece after that) so I figured I'd get them edged up. I love that store; it's so "down-home" and "up north" at the same time! I get in there and I don't know if I am in Iowa or in Green Bay, but it sure as heck doesn't feel like I am in Keno! They did a great job edging them for me.



Reading: "Jan and her Job" (1917), by L. Allen Harker.

Listening: Chuck Mitchell, The Traveling Wilburys, Coldplay, Lorde


At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com