rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















white flag
May 17, 2013, 6:15 P.M.

I surrender. Called my mom today, to ask about coming down this weekend and setting up her wifi and her Kindle Fire.

Found out, after the fact as usual, that she fell again on Sunday, and that she spent 3 days in the hospital this week because they thought she needed the R&R and they wanted to rule out stroke and heart attack (which they did; this is just general weakness and chemo effects, apparently).

Why do they do this? Why do they keep this stuff to themselves? I understand that she doesn't want to "worry" us, but this is no way to do it. Especially since she is cheating Dad out of the support and help we could be giving him. I'm no fool--I didn't make the mistake of bringing up the fact that Daddy needs sympathy and support in all this. I know that she is in no way willing to accept that he is suffering from HER illness. Never mind that he lost his best friend and had to give up his happy place and is feeling miserable about those things, on top of everything else. In her eyes, he will NEVER deserve a speck of respect or sympathy or kind feeling.

So we have that. Oh, and she put us off again. Next week, maybe, she said. I don't even think she realizes that it's a holiday weekend.


And since parents cannot possibly create ALL the stress that makes up my life, I have a husband to contribute, as well. Doing that thing he always does where he swears he is going to do something, but then comes up with a fresh excuse every day for why he failed to do it--until I just give up and do it myself. This week it was mowing the back yard. What am I going to do--wait till it's over the dog's head? It had to be done, so I had to do it.

Keep in mind, please, that he made the decision, just two weeks ago, to NOT hire the yard guy again, but to buy an electric lawn mower, instead. Because it would be cheaper and simpler if Spouse did the mowing. Meaning, I guess, that it would be cheaper and simpler, for him, if I did the mowing.

And on top of that, he announced that tonight and all next week, he will be gracing me with his lovely presence in the evenings. Covering vacations and sick days for other mechanics. One of those minor abuses they inflict on people who don't have kids. Oh, YOU can be flexible! YOU don't have to keep a specific schedule!

So I am a whiny, spoiled brat, and am not happy about this schedule change--but I shant take it out on him, because neither is he. Make the best of things, but I simply have zero energy to spare, and he takes soooo much of it...
After I left work this morning, I stopped at the Sprint store to see if they had any answers for the problems I've been having with my phone. They assured me that they did, and they could take care of it if I left my phone with them for a couple of hours, so I very happily did.

Well, the "fix" was to re-flash with the latest Android OS version. Which dropped some of my apps, re-installed a buttload of bloatware, re-set all my customizations back to factory default, updated apps without my approval*, and left me with an even tinier, reconfigured keyboard, impossible-to-use speech mode, an interface design hideous in both function and style...and lastly...OF COURSE it FAILED to fix the issue I took it in for. It got worse, in fact. What was only a periodic case of "the jumpy menu screens" is now near constant unless I put it in airplane mode, and with frequent freezes to boot.
Gaaah! For this, I gave up my sacred Friday nap. (which I desperately need, what with the "waking at three am, can't stay awake past eight pm" thing.)

Then I came home, and the dog knocked my laptop on the floor. I don't believe he hurt it any, thanks be to the whim of the universe. But darn it this day has sucked.



* I had no intention of installing the latest updates for Facebook. Now that Sprint/Google did it for me, I was forces to un-install AND disable the app. FB simply crossed a permissions line I am not willing to permit, so out it goes. The mobile site will have to do.

Reading: Back with Penelope, Salemina, and Francesca from "Penelope's English Experiences". The ladies have moved north, and I am enjoying "Penelope's Experiences in Scotland". "Penelope's Irish Experiences" is up next. All by Kate Douglas Wiggin, circa late 1890s.

Listening: Showtunes. Great stuff from Mame, Follies!, La Cage, Chicago, My Fair Lady, and Guys and Dolls. (I switched over to my Broadway channel on Pandora--my main channel was just too damned depressing.)



At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com