rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















a toilet, a sink, and a shower--what more does one need?
April 08, 2013, 2013

As you may have guessed from the title, the remodel (under general contractor P) has begun. At long, long, looooong last, I am getting my bathroom fixed

And yes, I do realize that at the moment, the (new!) toilet is installed in the bathroom, but the sink is in the kitchen, and the shower is in the basement. Details! A minor and temporary inconvenience, and I can live with it. Remodelling anything is chaos. Accept that, make your peace with it, and you'll be fine.

My house is in a temporary state of devastation and mess? This, too, shall pass. There will be cleaning to do once the project is finished, but in order to not go crazy, we are not going to try to keep pace with the mess--we will let things slide a bit for now.

We ended up receiveing a cracked shower surround from Lowe's? It will come right in time. Lowe's is dealing with it, and meanwhile, my genius of a Spouse gave up a night's sleep to design a marvelous temporary shower facility in the basement so we can maintain a reasonable level of personal hygiene.

Errors and delays with the shower door? Well, it's in now, and it turns out we couldn't put it up before anyway, since the surround was cracked.

A note about that shower Spouse came up with: We are fortunate to have a floor drain and a threaded mixer tap on the utility sink, and the rest was easy, once he'd worked out the design of it. Some PVC pipe & fittings, three cheap shower curtains & curtain pins, a garden hose with an adjustable trigger sprayer, and a washing machine pan. $45.00 and a few minutes to assemble and put up--voila! Temporary facilities. It works wonderfully. I'm so proud of that guy sometimes!

So it looks like, if Lowe's can get the surround dealt with in good time, I will have my new bathroom by the end of the month. There will still be some finishing touches to do, but for the most part, I should be looking at a completely remodelled bathroom: new floor, toilet, tub/shower ensemble with door, sink/vanity, faucets, light fixture, power outlet, exhaust fan, wall covering, window treatment, over-toilet cabinet, mirrors, and paint.

Then I can do all the froufy stuff, like towels and rugs and toothbrush holders and wastebaskets! (Which is actually my favorite part.)


Talked to my dad yesterday; he told me they had been having a shite week. Their precious, beloved, adored dog--the dog that was their salvation when my brother died--the dog that went everywhere with them--finally had the health crisis that had been looming for a while now. They had to make the big decision, and it just about wiped them out.

I feel so bad for Daddy, especially. Brissie was his constant companion and co-worker and best friend, his way of making it up to Sammy for not loving him enough, his coduit of communication with my mom...nearly everything a dog can be for somebody, Briss was for Dad. I am so scared that not having her to focus on is going to make it so much harder for him to hold it together.

In happier--I guess--news, I now have THREE nephews that are engaged to be married. MB's son proposed to his girlfriend on Saturday. It would be something of a stretch to say I am thrilled at all this matrimonial fervor; I think that two out of three are too darned young for such things. (TJ can go ahead--he's 29!) At least Wisconsin Nephew and his fiancee are not planning on getting married in the very near future; they basically have just declared their intent to stick with each other. I do not think this is the case with BB. His mother's family is a cult of weirdos that basically have made a cult out of family to point where marrying early--and often!--breeding like rats, and grieving for their dead are holy sacraments. She barely lets her kids off the leash even AFTER they marry and breed, so I'm sure she will make the poor fiancee's life hell, too.

Anyway. That's the news from my world.

Reading:The San Rosario Ranch (1884) by Maud Howe. Reading this because I love her sister's work. It is okay, but slow to develop, has characters I believe I am supposed to hace sympathy and empathy for but I...decidedly do not, and keeps losing me in a thicket of interminable paragraphs and overly elaborate prose. Laura got the fiction talent, I fear. I have to admit that I want to find out what happens, though.

Listening: To a lot of varying opinions of the late Margaret Thatcher. I personally couldn't stand her, but she got old, she got sick, and now she's dead. The end. I am far more upset about Lily Pulitzer and Annette Funicello, and I am still reeling over the loss of Roger Ebert, so the Iron Lady will have to suck hind teat.



At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com