rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















cobbled together
January 08, 2013

Last week, I got a "raise" of $31.00 a week.

What this means, in simple terms, is that my take-home pay is "only" going to be $13.31/week less than last year. (SST and medical insurance rate hike.)

They are forcing the travel issue, and I stopped fighting it. Because I flat out told them I could not pay for it, and because they really can't force you to spend your own money on company business, (even if they CAN force you to travel when you never signed up for that), they are picking up the tab. And also, who knows? Maybe I will finally catch lucky and the flights will give me a blood clot and kill me. (add link: http://www.webmd.com/dvt/features/deep-vein-thrombosis)

Oh, and a big shout out to my co-workers who couldn't shut up for one single frigging second of my one-and-a-half hour, extra-critical webinar conducted by a low talker today.


His job:
Two things that happened to Spouse last Thursday:
1. He got a really good, totally unsolicited job offer from a local pasta company--for two dollars an hour more than he is making now. Seems one of his old teachers sang his praises loud and long when they called asking for recommendations.
2. He got a note on his time card notifying him that he would be getting his pay cut by seventy sents an hour, as the company was eliminating shift premiums for the 2nd and 3rd shift workers.
Yeah--he starts at the new place on the 21st.

Which is good, yes--but also very stressful for me, in so many ways that I am much too tired to enumerate. But I will articulate this one--the fact that I remain trapped in horrible situations while he has the freedom to flit from job to job is effing killing me. Slowly, painfully, grinding my heart and soul down into dust. It doesn't matter any more whether it is his fault or not, whether it is a generally a good thing or a bad. It is just a cumulative burden that keeps getting bigger and I am eventually going to break beneath it.
Nephew. He is engaged! He and Girlfriend went on their trip to Ireland, and he popped the question very romantically. And of course she said yes...
Currently have two engaged nephews and a pregnant niece.
Mom. We visited on Sunday, and she was having a good day. Didn't see Dad, as he took the opportunity afforded by our visit to go home and take care of a bunch of necessary stuff. She is having good days and bad days, lots of nausea problems, but according to the medical staff that is a common thing. Waiting for the pathology report, and no idea at this point when she'll get out. Spouse seems to be pissed at her grandchildren for not visiting her. I don't find it productive to be pissed at stuff like that--any more. It didn't change anything the last time she was in the hospital. So why burn energy being pissed? One thing I did notice yesterday--nobody else ever sent her flowers. THAT ticks me off a little. Everyone knew she was gonna be there for a week, at LEAST. It would have killed them to send a plant or something?
My health: rampant anxiety, sleep deprived because the rampant anxiety gets me up at 3:00 am, a thyroid good enough to give me two menstrual periods in four weeks (oh, frigging halleleujah!), but not good enough to improve skin, nails, hair, energy, or body temp. According to the lab report, though, this is as good as it is going to get, because I'm back in the correct range.

My reading: "Betty Trevor" (1907) and "Flaming June" (1908), by Mrs. George de Horne Vaizey. "Clouds of Witness" (1923) by D.L. Sayers (In public domain! YAY!)

My listening: Steely Dan, Coldplay, and, because it is January 8th, The King and the (Thin White) Duke.

Five years ago today: we were picking up the pieces after the tornado swept Niece & Nephew's house away.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com