rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















blogpost digest
September 24, 2012, 7:17 P.M.

I was violently ill at the end of last week, both ends, pretty much wanted to die and yet didn't miss any work. I'm not particularly proud of that, but since they screwed us royally by converting over mid-year to a rolling 12-month "sick days year" (so that all the ones we took at the end of last year are effing things up for this year)--I can't call in sick. I got home Friday afternoon at 1:20 and was in bed, crashed, by 1:30.


Can I just say how much I appreciate the fact that this is an amazing year for raspberries? way cheaper than they have been for years, and plump, sweet, juicy monsters for my eating pleasure. Narf.
We took the B in for his shots and physical on Saturday morning. He may have a thyroid issue, how about that? Haven't got the tests back yet, though. His visit ended up being 30 minutes--at$10 a minute. Not cheap to have a pooch.
Checked out the new HH Gregg in Racine this weekend. And Spouse walked out with something I just cannot figure out how he could even dream that he came close to deserving--a new TV/DVD combo for his bedroom. 19-inch LED with built-in DVD player. I think it was like $129, so it was a pretty good price. But why did he believe he had somehow earned that particular splurge? The mind boggles.
My big splurges, on the other hand, were a new Rubbermaid food storage container--the whopping 2.5 gallon size--in anticipation of fruitcake season, and a roasting pan, since I was finally able to find one small enough to fit in my piss-poor, baby-sized oven. Yeah, the two of those together were $36.00. (I'm such a profligate thing.)
Auntie and I have a plot going to surprise Cousin on October 1st. That would have been my uncle's birthday, and I know it's going to be hard on her. So I am sending her pink roses (the official Uncle Ron symbol) on that day. But I can't send to the house, since there is no one home to receive them. That's where Auntie comes in--I will send them to HER house, and she will run them over and put them on the dining room table at Cousin's. This gives Auntie something to plot and scheme over, it gives Cousin something to perk her up and let her know we're thinking about her, and gives Spouse and me the chance to send our love. I like it.
Changed over to my fall bag this weekend--first weekend of fall got me in the mood to put away the summer aqua and get out the gorgeous, berry-colored leather Maddox satchel from Fossil that I found on sale this summer. I gave it a coat of protectant , and a good buffing, and switched all my gear over, then stuffed and covered the summer bag for storage. Leather is heavy, but since I am no longer carrying around the e-book, it's not too bad. It has a long strap as well, in case I feel I need it. Gotta say--damn, it is a scrumptious bag.
Domestically, I was kind of into the semi-homemade thing this weekend (not the drunken queen of frosting thing, just the "streamlining the effect" thing.) and baked up a couple of loaves of bread from Rhodes frozen dough, as well as putting together a sort of modular chicken soup. Here's the thing--I had chicken breasts thawed the other day, only Spouse wasn't interested. So I baked them off before they could spoil, and stashed the cooked chicken in the fridge...but then, I had to think up a way to use up the chicken! So yesterday, I chopped up a mirepoix, deboned & shredded the ckicken, used Knorr stock concentrate to make the broth, threw in a few herbs and a block of chuka soba noodles, and in a little while we were feasting on a reasonable facsimile of homemade chicken soup, accompanied by some "homemade" bread. YUM. (Also yum: we made meatloaf, fresh green beans, and mashed potatoes for dinner Saturday, and it came out superfine.)
It was actually a good thing I decided on chicken soup yesterday, since Spouse decided to catch a darned cold. He was feeling pretty punk yesterday, achy and feverish and sniffly and grouchy. A little Jewish-Japanese hybrid penicillin didn't hurt him any.
Work report: mine continues to suck in new and painful ways each and every day. The latest is the plan for Thursday; another one of those team lunches I dread so. So I will have to deal with them for nine straight hours, no breaks. They think that they are giving you something when they take you out to lunch. And they will never, ever, ever understand that they are taking something away. Any time I have to spend with those people that I am not being paid for is a theft of my personal time. And no amount of minestrone from the frigging Olive Garden is going to make up for it.

Work is making it really challenging to remain a non-smoker, too. I am hitting 20 months tomorrow, but I feel like I am back in heck week, at least. It is driving me crazy. I don't want to want a cigarette, damn it!

His work, however, is helping me out by putting him on second shift, where he by gum belongs. So I was looking forward all day to this quiet, peaceful evening where I could actually sit and enjoy my solitude. Yeah, how dare I, right? He texted me right in the middle of a conversation with my boss to let me know they sent him home from work because he was too sick to be around ready-to-eat food. Honestly, I don't know whether I'd rather know ahead of time, and have two extra hours to be pissed about it, or just have the full impact of the unpleasant surprise when I get home. Sigh, Doesn't matter either way, I guess. Right now I'm just wishing like fuck that he would go crawl in bed and turn on that new TV of his.


Reading: �Trying Out Torchy� (1912) and �On With Torchy� (1913) , by Sewell Ford and �Frances of the Ranges: or, The Old Ranchman's Treasure � (1918) by Amy Bell Marlowe.

Listening: Cage the Elephant, Devo, The Black Keys, Paul Simon

Surfing:

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com