rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















wanted: inventive invective
September 20, 2012, 7:01 P.M.

I decided that I need an epithet. Some expression of violent emotion that I can use when I want to spew bile. My problem is that all the common "swears" are unsuitable for me. They are scatological, or sexual, or sex-IST, and therefore repugnant--or they require me to call upon a fictional being for some kind of intervention on my behalf, which I am even more reluctant to do*.

To please me, it would need to have good, strong, punchy phonetics, but it wouldn't necesarily have to be negative. Or in English. I just need a short series of mouth sounds to draw upon when I need to express anger, frustration, impatience, etc. The chief desire is for something that sounds good and feels satisfying when I say it.

My current shortlist--and there isn't any reason I can't add them ALL to my vocab, I guess...
Otchi Tchornye (Russian folk song title: "Dark Eyes")
Sweet Yeti of the Serengeti! (thank you, Futurama's Hermes Conrad)
Mighty F�hrer of the sausage people! (picked up watching Fred MacAulay on QI)




*Yeah...weird. I don't quite know why. Part of me rationalizes it with "if there is no god, then you shouldn't feel like the words are taboo". But then, I also think maybe it is misleading other people if I make a lot of references to "god" or "hell" when I get to vituperating. I don't want them to get the idea that I condone any sort of belief in a supreme being.




Reading: "Torchy" (1911), by Sewell Ford; the first of a good-sized series about the rise of a red-headed office boy ("Torchy" being his haircolor-based nickname) working for "The Corrugated Trust".

Listening: Feist, Steve Winwood, Blondie, David Bowie, California Wives

Surfing:

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com