rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















I never get tired of bitching
July 12, 2012

creepy vintage TV moment: watching Adam-12, and Christina Sinatra is playing Gary Crosby's hot 25-yr-old niece. In the last scene of the episode, the implication is she's going on a date with the wolf of the precinct, and will be putty in his hands.

The wolf of the precinct is played by Frank Sinatra, Jr.

Yeah...her brother. Ew.


So--despite having a rather nasty UTI with accompanying vaginitis this week, I was bravely soldiering on and not missing any work...Spouse effed that one up royal. Since he's screwed into a corner by these hideous hours he's working, I asked him earlier in the week if I needed to handle taking the dog for his second follow-up on Wednesday. You know, I asked him early enough where I could have requested some personal time and handled it without having to get dinged a sick day I can't afford because he punked at the last minute, leaving me make up an excuse, race home just in time to change out of my work clothes, grab the dog, and get him to his appointment.

And since there was no way I was going to be able to get all the way back to work and get enough time put in to "buy back" my sick day, I said to hell with it and just stayed home. Why should I put in 3 or four hours and still have it count against me? I took a swim while the shade was still on the pool, and then put on my grungy, comfy shorts & teeshirt and read a book all afternoon, because I had to be quiet & not disturb "sleeping beauty".

I tell you, this shit has simply got to stop. All this overwork turns him into a raging asshole at home, and it's like living with a combination of the worst traits of my dad: "When work sucks, keep your mouth shut till you get home and then verbally attack and abuse your family!" and my grandfather: "He loses his appetite, so how dare I even dream that I need to eat!"

But here's the thing: I am NOT my grandma and I am NOT my mom and I am NOT going to roll over and take it. Eff that. If he starts on me tonight, I am going to grab my keys and go to the library without saying a damned word. I wish being direct with him worked, but it isn't getting through--thanks to that monster mother he had, all he understands is a passive aggressive response.
I feel like every time I decide to do something for me, that's the signal for everything to come rushing in and fck me over. That's why I so rarely bother any more--I never end up enjoying myself anywhere near enough to make up for the crazy-ass, shit-falling-apart, everybody-suddenly-needs-a-piece-of-me, absolute HELL it seems to trigger. Have a crazy idea that it would sure be nice to get together with some people I grew up with? In steps fate, with an infected dog and a dead uncle and 12-hour-days screwing Spouse over and epic heat waves and droughts and oh, I could go on and on. YES. I know it's magical thinking. YES. I KNOW it's unscientific bullpucky. But after 48 years of getting screwed out of everything from class trips to graduation parties to my original wedding date to...oh, I don't know...EVeryFUCKingTHING!!!!!

--my judgement is getting a little warped.



Reading:On a bit of an Ann Warner kick. "Seeing France with Uncle John" (1906), and "Sunshine Jane" (1913), both by Warner.

Listening: Of Monsters and Men, Foster the People, Fleetwood Mac (Happy B-day, Christine McVie), and Soul Asylum.

Surfing: .

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com