rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















checking in
April 23, 2012

Just a check-in to record my continued existence. I don't feel like writing today, but do feel like I have a responsibility to make an entry. So here it is.

Friday:
Morning work, afternoon nap, Menard's to hit their houshold cleaning sale & pick up some mulch and pre-planted pots (spikes & petunias) for the front yard, and dinner at The Charcoal Grill (salad, rotisserie chicken, roasted carrots, baked potato. Yum.) Home and a quiet evening.


Saturday:
Up at 5:30, some relaxation and coffee time, then cleaned up and dressed to go shopping in McHenry at the Meijer, just to get out of our rut. Got about 15 miles, had to turn & come back home because Spouse left a candle burning. Re-started, stopped on the way and had breakfast with family/friends (Niece, her mom, her stepdad) and then got to Meijer finally. Disappointed that most of the specials and products that has always drawn me there have been discontinued, but shopped the ad for bargains, and even picked up a couple of cute summer tops for $14 each. Still love their clothes, but the purses are another area where they have lost me--I didn't care for anything they had, and they have stopped carrying my favorite dept. store brand (Nine & CO.).

Drove back to town, put everything away and spent the rest of the day just wasting time. Dinner was brats on the grill, store potato salad, and some excellent fresh sweet corn. Spouse went to bed after dinner, while I fought to stay awake past 7:30. In a fit of desperation, I turned to the kitchen, and made a batch of candied almonds just to keep myself active and awake. And once those were in the oven, I cleaned up my mess and ended up washing the dishes that I'd previously left for Spouse.

Almonds came out pretty good for an impromptu throw-together: not too sweet, just cinnamony enough, and very "roasty-tasting". Spouse approved, too.
Sunday:
Up at 5:30 again; baked up some cinnamon puff-pastry thingies I had in the freezer, and brewed up some fresh-ground coffee. Talked to my mom for an hour and a half about nonsense and inconsequence, while Spouse did housework, put up the new shower curtains I bought a few weeks ago, and got the laundry going. I'd have started the wash on Saturday, but he forbade me to use the washer until he'd levelled it--we had an out-of-balance mishap that had actually moved the machine, earlier in the week.

Once I was off the phone, I jumped in the shower--which leads to the big story of the day...
While I was dressing, Spouse went downstairs to advance the laundry--and found the basement flooded. Which it had NOT been, prior to my shower.

On investigation, we found that the trap cover--which is actually the BOTTOM of the drum-style trap our tub has--was completely gone! Disintegrated, or fell out and landed who-knows-where, because we couldn't find a trace of it. Fortunately, it had come away pretty damn clean, and Spouse was able to clean out the threads and put in a replacement. (Yes-there was a quick trip to Menard's in there!) Then there was the mess to be cleaned up...I'm sooo glad we have a concrete floor and a drain...

Once we had that dealt with and got the laundry back on track, we had a sandwich for lunch and just rested in the afternoon. I took a nap with the B, and I think Spouse did, too. Then we all got up, and got dinner prep going. We split a strip steak, and had it with baked potatoes, salad, and garlic bread. So Spouse made garlic butter, got the grill ready to go, and got the bakers ready & in the oven. I made the salads and set the table. (Yes, I am an incredibly lazy thing and my husband did about 80% of the housework this weekend. Got a problem?) and monitored the bread while he cooked the steak, and we had a lovely meal. Shared cleanup, and then Spouse retired to the bedroom to netsurf, read, and retire. I watched some TV, played a few games, and hit the sack shortly after 9.

There ya go. The weekend.


Reading: "Hepsey Burke" (1915), by Frank Noyes Westcott. Very much in the same vein as Joseph Crosby Lincoln. Publisher's blurb: Experiences of a young Episcopal clergyman in adjusting himself to the conditions of his new parish, marrying the girl of his choice and overcoming the enmity of the senior warden. Hepsey Burke is the wholesome soul who mothers the young couple and brings all her homely wisdom to bear on parish difficulties. Also, "Mr. Pratt" (1906), by Joseph Crosby Lincoln.

Listening: "No Big Surprise - The Steve Goodman Anthology"

Surfing: The Ineluctable Bookshelf.

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com