rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















another meh weekend
April 16, 2012

I did some shopping (just household necessities & groceries, nothing fun).
I did some chores (a little laundry & cleaning)
I did some baking (yellow cupcakes with buttercream frosting, at Spouse's request. I'm not a fan, but he likes 'em)
I did some cooking (Spouse wanted meatloaf & mashed potatoes on Saturday.)
I did some napping (nearly three hours on Friday afternoon).
I did some corresponding (Got the latest Uncle letter written, printed, assembled, and posted.)
I did some visiting (Nephew and GF came by to visit and to pick up the card/$50 we gave him for his 21st B-Day.) I did some computer and e-reader maintenance (usual cleanup & de-frag on the HP, plus a disk-check on the Augen)
I did some library maintenance (see below)
I played some games (Bookworm, Flipwords)
I dyed my hair (got sick of that old witch in the mirror, and had a new haircolor to try: Sublime Mousse by L'Oreal, #53-Medium Golden Brown)
I managed to watch half an episode--#3--of Mad Men (There is pretty much less than one hour a week where I can have the TV. He's always home, and he's always up, and he's always got it on what HE wants to watch. I'm losing ground every damned week.) I spent some more time wondering why I am forced to be alive on this planet. (The usual time--between midnight and 4:30 on Monday morning, when I'm lying there unable to sleep.)

Wow. I guess I did more this weekend than I thought.




Reading: "The Squirrel-Cage" (1911), by Dorothy Canfield (Fisher). Yes, the "Understood Betsy" writer, although this is a book written for adults. The synopsis, from the DCF biography on the Book Rags website: ��the story of Lydia Emery, a brilliant young woman from a conventional upper-middle-class family, who allows herself to be steered into marriage with Paul Hollister, an ambitious but tiresome businessman, despite the fact that she is in love with Daniel Rankin, a revolutionary, idealistic cabinetmaker.� I've just gotten started, but I already find the Emerys to be climbers, and the paragraphs to be too long.
Also continuing to work my way through all available Joseph Crosby Lincoln books. Just finished "The Portygee"(1920), and am beginning "Extricating Obadiah"(1917).

I was having some problems with my reader--it wasn't playing nice with epubs from Googlebooks--so I was beginning to thing I'd played out everything I could access of Lincoln's. But I spent a couple of hours yesterday on unloading books from the Augen, downloading them to the laptop, and then reloading them though the stupid Adobe Digital Editions software, and that is allowing me to get to some of them.

Listening: One of those days where the music is playing, but I'm just not hearing it. The old brain is tuning it out.

Surfing: .

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com