rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















another ATK recipe day
March 04, 2012, 5:29 P.M.

We had a decent weekend, despite the continued weather pattern of everything turning to shit come Friday. I came home from work on Friday and took a nap, then Spouse and I hung out and had frozen pizza for dinner, and I started on the laundry.

Saturday, we did our household shopping in the morning, then came home and I started in on the laundry. Spouse and I started looking around onlne for a new pair of safety shoes for him to wear to work, and pretty soon we decided that we really needed to get to a store and REALLY shop for shoes. He needs to be able to try on and check them out three-D before spending the money. So I went into my secret stash and grabbed a Benjie, and we jumped in the car and headed to Rogan's.

I'm REALLY glad we did, because we found a pair of Skechers Work lightweight safety shoes in his size (13-EE, so yeah--this can be really hard!). Awesome good fortune; they were just the sort of thing he had in mind and he was tickled to get them. Since it is right next door, I popped into the Penzey's spice store and picked up some herbs and peppercorns I needed after we got done, and then we came home.

It was another night where neither of us felt like cooking, so we ended up with hotdogs and oven french fries for supper.

Today was an at-home day; I wrapped up the laundry, scrubbed the kitchen floor and sink, took a nap with The B, and played lazy. Made myself an herb omelet and toast for breakfast, and we just popped some corn for lunch.

And since this was the cooking day of the weekend, dinner was "French-Style Pot Roasted Pork Loin", from the current season of America's Test Kitchen. Spouse and I haven't had a kitchen adventure for a while, so that was fun. Rustic mashed potatoes and steamed peas and carrots to go with, and I made a cinnamon-streusel cake for dessert. As always with ATK recipes, it was complicated, but insanely good. :D

Not much else goes on; talked to my mom and she just found out she DOESN'T have congestive heart failure, so that's pretty good news, but favorite uncle isn't doing well and that makes me feel pretty crappy. My niece wants a frigging tattoo of her son's name, and that makes me feel very disappointed in her. I don't care how fashionable and mainstream is has become, tattoos disgust me and I am always going to lower my opinion of your intelligence if I find out you have one. My friend D became a grandma for the second time, her son and daughter-in-law had a baby boy last week.

I guess that's about it. think I'll go read for a while.




Reading: "Galusha the Magnificent" (1921), "Cap'n Eri: A Story of the Coast" (1904), by Joseph Crosby Lincoln. Charming stories of Cape Cod.

Listening: Showtunes on Pandora. Too much Rodgers & Hammerstein, but a little Music Man and a little Mame, so not a total loss.

Surfing: .

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com