rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















so I'm a great aunt
August 01, 2011

WARNING: This is my diary. Here I am allowed to record my innermost thoughts and be brutally honest about what I think and how I feel. The following is not politically correct, or touchy-feely-sensitive. It is my gut reaction. My most personal bottom line. If anyone doesn't like my snitty, snobby, bitchfest of a vent, then, Too. Darn. Bad.



My niece had a baby on Friday morning. First of the next generation, making my parents great-grandparents, my Middle Brother a grandfather, and me a great-aunt. Cue the great rejoicing in the land:

Oh, yay.

Forgive me if I sound less than enthused, but I am not exactly over the moon about it. For one thing, I have a conflict of long standing with people who have babies they can't afford. For another, I despise her shiftless, lazy, redneck, spoiled rotten mama's boy of a husband.

And then there is the name they chose, which I will not be repeating here. (It is unique, and if they ever googled it, this entry might come up.) Suffice it to say that it is the quintessence of backwards-ass, hillbilly, redneck, dirt-track loving trailer trash. (I think I'll be calling him by his initials.) I am a firm believer in NOT saddling a baby with a name that will hold them back in life. Apparently, MyNiece and her husband have no such qualms. And they are already planning to take that poor little baby out into the noise and dust and stink of the dirt-track races next week!

Honestly. What is wrong with these people? Okay, well--the nephew-in-law is borderline-defective, that's his excuse. But what is MyNiece's problem? She is actually pretty bright--why does she seem to be in thrall to that revolting bum?

I can't help wondering when, exactly, my family took a turn for the white trash. (Oh, wait--I remember. August of 1984. Thanks, MB.)



Reading:Hobby/General--I'm straddling the line between a general reading of a classic and hobby reading of an old novel, by beginning the "The Swiss Family Robinson" (1812), by Johann David Wyss, and originally edited by Johann Rudolf Wyss. I've got the Editor's Cut from Pink Tree Press (c. 2000). This book has through so many translations, elaborations, abridgements, and editions that it is hard to say what version is what, but this version seems to be pretty impressive. The editors were quite diligent in researching and adapting the story from five different previous versions. The only thing that worries me is a notation at the end that states this company's books are all "painstakingly re-edited to suit the tastes of the Twenty-First Century homeschoolers".

Listening: OBCR from "The Book of Mormon". I bought myself this as part of my 6-months reward for quitting smoking, and am enjoying the holy living crap out of it. Matt and Trey, plus Robert Lopez of Avenue Q, have created a work of genius.

Surfing:

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com