rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















better
May 02, 2011

Lost 5 pounds this past week, depsite struggling with dining out, Spouse's cooking, my baking, and constant, unstoppable hunger. Also, my inablity to get off my keister and get walking.

Sigh. I really miss the days when I could abuse myself with diet pills, exer-rexia and crash dieting.


So. The last week--highlights version:
Went down to the loop last Wed. nite; took Niece and went to spend Spouse's gift certificate he won from The Drive. Stopped in Glenview to pick up some stuff at Trader Joes, then braved late afternoon traffic into downtown for our dinner at Frankie's Scallopine. Which? Was awesome! Since the prices weren't outrageous, and the cert was for a c-note, we indulged in wine, appetizers, entrees, and dessert. For three people, came out to about $105.00. Not too shabby.

I had an interesting red--a cab/merlot blend that I quite liked. A caprese salad for my starter, salmon picatta with garlic spinach for my entree, and caramel gelato for dessert. All excellent. The service was very good, as well. Niece had tomato bisaque, baked spaghetti with marinara and a meatball (special order), and the deep dish chocolate-chip cookie, with the vanilla gelato on the side instead of on top (another special order). Spouse had garlic bread with marinara, a brick oven pizza, a chianti, and the vanilla gelato off of Nieces dessert. Nobody had anything they didn't just love. So we tipped her two bits on it and were headed back out of the loop before you could blink twice. Nice time!
Thursday was a great day, since I was off work for a vacation day, and Spouse had to make up his Wednesday night class on Thursday night. I pretty much had one of those days where I puttered around in my robe and played on the computer or watched old movies all day. Oh--and I baked up the gingersnaps for the Arizona shipment.
Friday, I got up for work, and did my usual clicking on of the TV once I'd poured my coffee, so I could check the weather on Channel 9. Ended up watching Will and Kate say their vows, since that was what was on instead of my news. Worked in the morning, then had a checkup and cleaning at the dentist before Spouse and I went and did some shopping.

Fridays are very trying for me, since I never get anything to eat or drink for the greater part of the day. Spouse just cannot get it through his head that lunch and hydration are NOT OPTIONAL for me, and no matter how much I try to tell him, I end up getting dragged all over the place for hours on end with nothing to sustain me, then going home and putting everything away despite being ready to collapse.

By the time 5:30 rolled around and he served up dinner, I was pretty light-headed. How wonderful that he'd decided that I needed to take it easy, and just make tossed salad...and HOT DOGS for dinner. Lovely. I had to make dinner myself, and we had to have food that is on NOBODY's conception of a good diet. Fortunately, I had the calories to spend, since he spent most of the day starving me comatose. And to round out my lovely day, I slept for shit all night because I had more cookies to bake and that fact was hanging over me like the sword of Damocles.
So Saturday, I got up at six and started baking cookies. Spouse was all pissy when he got up because I was taking up the whole kitchen and he couldn't have his breakfast, but he shut up pretty quick when I snapped that he didn't have any rpoblem keeping ME from eating, so he could just deal with it.

Anyway, I got the Oatmeal Scotchies baked. And despite the fact that I'd spent two of my mornings off baking, there wasn't a cookie in the house by noon. I sent off the gingersnaps and half of the scotchies to AZ, and because Spouse can NOT keep his big mouth shut and blabbed to Nephew that I'd baked, I ended up sending the other half of the batch to Green Bay for Nephew and GF. Oh, well. I'm better off, I guess. Oatmeal Scotchies are not in my best interests right now, and since they are one of my all-time favorite cookies, it was best to just get them out of here. Just had one for quality control, and sent the rest away.

We had a bit more of a sensible meal Saturday night. Spouse grilled some pork loin ribs with a bit of barbecue sauce, and I steamed some rice, and made sweet corn for Spouse and a salad for myself.
Sunday was pretty quiet--Spouse made buckwheat cakes and bacon for breakfast, and I had a salad for lunch. I did laundry and Spouse made his "chop suey" for dinner. Not much else. Another day where I didn't leave the house, since it was nice, but ferociously windy out.
Today was mildly hellish at work, and of course the big news was that they got bin Laden, finally. Too bad it took so long that all the good that might of come of it is long gone. I'm sure there will be retaliation, too. I hit the chiro on the way home, blew my diet on a bit of comfort eating, wrote this, and now all I want to do is go lie down.

Reading:Hobby--"I've Married Marjorie" (1920), by Margaret Widdemer.
Also reading: "Mae Madden" (1875), by Mary Murdoch Mason. Lot of M's, eh?

Listening: You know what? I can't even remember what I was listening to this morning.

Surfing: .

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com