rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















protein is the first casualty of a college student's budget
April 04, 2011

A fairly quet weekend at home--Saturday was a "sweatpants all day" affair, with some spring cleaning of bedding, shower curtain, laundry, and such. Yesterday, we pretty much made it about Nephew and his GF. I baked another batch of cookies for them--my peanut butter cookies this time. And we returned to the GFS store, and stretched a couple of twenties as hard as we could to get them stocked up on some groceries.

The place was ten times the zoo it was on Friday. And it was a HELL of a zoo on Friday.

The line for the checkouts was strung up and down the aisles of the store, and there were so many people in there I'm certain it was a fire code violation. But we were able to get them 5 lbs of the ground sirloin patties (and another box for ourselves, since we cooked them out Saturday night and found them to be delicious), 5 lbs of plain jumbo chicken wings, 2 lbs of sliced ham, a pound of cheddar cheese, two huge bags of chips, a half-gallon of kosher dill spears (GF loves pickles), a dozen hamburger buns, a big bag of pretzels, and a 30-pack of individual Kelloggs breakfast cereals.

Really. The grand opening sale was THAT good--we got all that for around $45.00. Oh, and Spouse took a pound of Hebrew Nationals out of the freezer and threw them in, too.

We looked at it this way: We could give Nephew a $50, like we usually do when he stops in for a visit. But this is maximizing the money in a way he would never be able to manage, and they will have meat for a couple of weeks, without having to lay out for it. And snacks and cereal, too. I know from experience that protein is the first casualty of a college student's budget, and these kids are recovering from a car accident--they shouldn't have to do without.

Of course, I wouldn't do it this way for everyone, but Nephew and GF happen to be two people who love to cook, and would rather prepare their own, (quality) ingredients than be forced to eat the low-grade dogfood that the dining hall serves. I think it's a sin, the way the damn school charges a fortune for mandatory meal plans, and then serves garbage, knowing that over half the kids are never going to eat it. They only have to buy the worst ingredients,for about half the payees, and they can just keep rest of the money.


I have been having issues with my phone lately--two days in a row this weekend, my battery drained completely dry in less than 24 hours. Personally, I think it is because I get such a shitty signal at home, the damn thing burns up looking for a connection. I don't have this problem during the week, when my phone spends 12 hours a day in a strong signal zone.

Spouse, on the other hand, thinks it is just the battery going bad, and told me I needed to get a new one. I figured it couldn't hurt, as long as it wasn't too expensive, and set out online to look for one.

Well, that was a study in contrasts. Checked Batteries Plus: $40.00 for a new battery. Checked my phone carrier: They couldn't replace it at all. Checked Amazon: Found a seller with 100% positive feedback out of 239 recent reviews, and he was selling the replacement battery for my phone for $7.25 and free shipping. Ordered the phone yesterday morning, and the guy dropped it for shipping ten hours later. I suppose it'll be a generic replacement, but if it holds a charge and doesn't fry my phone--good enough.
Have I updated the progress on smoking cessation lately? Here's the thing. I got over the sturm and drang and finally let go. Doing much better, 69 days into the process, seven consecutive days without a slip, and actually cutting down on the gum, as well.

Still miss it, tend to romanticize it, crave it, etc. But as I said--I'm doing much better. I don't expect to let go of all my feelings, habits, patterns, and such regarding smoking at once, or already. Takes time. So I'm giving it time. But I'm not going back to cigarettes in the meantime.

Reading:Hobby--"Darkness and Daylight" (1864), more divinely complicated craziness from Mary J. Holmes. And full of a bunch of people that showed up later in "Tracy Park", so I can't resist. Also reading "Janet: A Twin" and "Phyllis: A Twin" (both 1920), by Dorothy Whitehill, and illustrated by Thelma Gooch (Oh, that name! Rapture!)

Surfing: .

Listening: Cake, Weezer, Paul Simon, Gin Blossoms, Stan Ridgeway, Counting Crows

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com