rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















rested
November 24, 2010

What a difference 8 hours in a warm bed can make. I made my bed up with the electric blanket last night, turned it on to pre-heat, and crashed about 8:30, snuggled up in its lovely warmth. Slept like a rock. I probably need to do that every night.

But anyway--even though I'm being plagued by some persistent hip pain, I still feel loads better today. Of course, some of that may have to do with the fact that all my bosses have vacation today, and I have a four day weekend commencing myself.


I forgot to mention yesterday that my day, which opened with a dumped coffee cup, ended with a mis-addressed envelope returned to sender. Apparently, I was rushing too much when I sent Uncle's last letter, and my typo in the address rendered it undeliverable. See what happens when you hurry? Anyway, I peeled the uncancelled stamp off, got out the glue stick and affixed it to a fresh envelope (which I HAND-addressed), sealed it up fresh and dropped it back into the mailbox. Of course, the one time when it really counts, he doesn't get it. Damn. He really needs the boost right now.

Oh, well. Since I intend to get a new one off to him this weekend, he'll probably get them one on top of the other and be double-thrilled.

Reading: Hobby--"Anything Once"(1920), by Douglas Grant (Isabel Ostrander)"Two Little Women" (1915), by Carolyn Wells. I adore Carolyn Wells, but her characters always seem a bit off in age to me. I have a hard time believing that 14-year-old girls were that infantile, even in 1915--and the "babies" in her stories are lisping, baby-talking toddlers at five or six! Still, she's hardly the only writer of the era that had the problem. Maybe it was some kind of sublimial thing to keep her readers from growing up too fast. Or maybe, like today, what appear to be "teen" stories were actually written for "tweens".


General--strictly hobby reading at the moment

Surfing: .

Listening:

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com