rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















sick headache
August 19, 2010

I had a headache so bad on Tuesday that everyone I bumped into said "You look terrible!" or "What's wrong? You look ill" or "Damn--what happened to your face? You look like a stroke victim" (thanks, honey!)

By the time I got up on Wednesday, it had progressed to the point where my eyes wouldn't focus.

Sick day ensued. But after spending the entire night with a heating pad on high beneath my head, neck, and shoulders (and with my mind full of vivid dreams from the EMFs) I actually felt human when I awoke this morning. Say what you want about a sick headache--it feels simply glorious when it stops!


Something that doesn't feel good when it stops--Having AwesomeBoss around. After working with and/or for AB for nearly ten years, I won't have him around anymore. He's leaving the company for greener pastures.

I knew he would as soon as I found out he was working on his MBA. He's all about the future, and let's face facts: my company really doesn't have a future. The business we are in is being destroyed by a clueless government, and we have been shrinking for years. I expect that the place will eventually just blink out of existence.

Where that will leave my fat, middle-aged self, I have no idea.

Meanwhile, we frantically attempt to forestall the inevitable, and I am insanely busy. For the short term.

Reading: Hobby--"Patty's Fortune"(1916) by Carolyn Wells, and "The Heart Of Una Sackville: A Tale Of A Young Woman's Search For The Future Love Of Her Life", by Mrs. George de Horne Vaizey. What's more of a mouthful--that title, or the name of the author? I kinda want to start a band, so I can name it "The Heart Of Una Sackville".

General--"Speak to Me of Love", by Dorothy Eden. Which managed to piss me off, overall. It turned out to be the story of a woman who got just exactly what she wanted--so naturally she spent the rest of her life paying dearly for having the sheer effrontery to presume that a woman is EVER entitled to get exactly what she wants. IBTP.

Surfing: .

Listening: Counting Crows, XTC, Van Morrison.

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com