rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















Ich bin kein Kind mehr
August 23, 2010

That's today's entry on my German-Phrase-A-Day calendar.

Translated: "I'm not a kid anymore." Oh, how freaking true is that?


I am frequently reminded of that fact. This weekend required me to be more social than I could comfortably handle, leaving me with uncharged batteries. The quantity and quality of the human interaction wasn't out of hand, though--it was just the very unfortunate timing. Saturday turned into Nephew day; he came over and hung out for a while, went through his uncle's closet for old concert, Vegas, and Indy 500 tee-shirts, and ate a sizable amount of loose groceries. Unfortunately, he took his chunk of day out of the middle, which totally screws with my mind.

By the time he rolled out, it was time to start dinner, since Spouse had demanded meatloaf, mashed potatoes, and scalloped corn. A complete dinner of dishes requiring time and attention. And much dishwashing. I did end up pointing that out, and he made the mashed potatoes himself. Meatloaf came out stellar, but I was wrung out by the time I washed the last of the dishes.

And then my mom called and ate up my whole evening. There's an energy sucking conversation. Not that it was a bad call at all; she's just a person who takes a lot of energy to deal with.

And on Sunday morning? Dad called. "What're ya doin..."

Ended up meeting them for lunch at Crandall's in Hebron. A good restaurant, right at the mid-point between us and them. Again--a perfectly pleasant experience. We ate well, visited, and had a good time. Mom gave me back a load of Mason jars, as well as some Christmas ornaments she had promised me*.

But. Again--huge chunk right out of the middle of my day. I still managed to get all my laundry dealt with--almost. I had intended to strip and wash all the bedding, but only ended up getting one bed done. And I had intended to spend some time in the pool (vacuuming and cleaning), as well as doing some weeding in the yard, working on my State Fair slideshow, and beading. But none of that got done, of course. That's my dilemma. If I get too burned out doing the things that use me up, I can't do the things that restore me. So the burn out lingers, festers, grows, and leads to a crash.

Work isn't getting any less taxing, I'm looking at a week and a half between school terms where I will have no breaks from Spouse, and I got pressured into committing my autumn vacation--not to relaxing, as I'd intended--but to spending the entire week in Phoenix with Auntie & Uncle.

I couldn't possibly love these people any more than I do already, but WHY can't anyone understand that I JUST DON"T HAVE ENOUGH ENERGY FOR THIS STUFF? Will I have a good time? Yes. Will I be glad I spent time with my family? Yes.

But will it be exhausting and debilitating? HELL yes.
Oh, and guess who dropped by last night, to stress me out juuust a bee bit more?

My Aunt Flo. All-too-unpredictable of late, but still lurking, and popping up when you least expect. She brought a LOT of luggage this trip.

*Yeah, I know. Whatever. It's Mom.

Reading: Hobby--"Patty's Fortune"(1916) by Carolyn Wells, and "The Heart Of Una Sackville: A Tale Of A Young Woman's Search For The Future Love Of Her Life", by Mrs. George de Horne Vaizey.

General--"Mrs. de Winter", by Susan Hill. A ridiculous sequel to Daphne du Maurier's "Rebecca". I picked it up at the Goodwill, but I'm kind of sorry I did. This kind of book is never a good idea. Why am I always drawn to them? (I do draw the line at reading Eoin Colfer's "Hitchhiker's Guide" sequel, though. Way too much love and respect for DNA to go beyond his work, no matter how much I love Arthur, Ford, Marvin, Zaphod, and the lot.)

Surfing: a bit of whimsy.

Listening: John Lennon, Kings of Leon, Blancmange

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com