rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















relief
June 24, 2010

Items that make me rather happy at the moment:
The weather has cleared and the next few days are supposed to be sunny, less humid, and more reasonable of temperature.
Spouse is out of town through the weekend, house-and-dog-sitting for his brother.
It�s nearly the weekend.
The pool is a balmy 85° (almost too balmy, actually) and the water is clear.


On the other hand, there are things that piss me off at the moment. Like my Rx plan. It�s such BS. I went to pick up my refill yesterday, and they tried to tell me my insurance was cancelled and I�d have to pay the full amount in cash. Now, that wouldn�t be a huge deal, because my plan copay is eight bucks, and the full retail is only $10.99. But can someone tell me why the CVS pharmacy decided my CVS/Caremark insurance was cancelled?

Knowing as I did that there was nothing wrong with my Rx plan, I refused to roll over and pony up an extra $2.99 for my levothyroxine. Instead, I pissed off everyone behind me in line by pressing the point, handing them my card, and saying you are wrong, try again. Hey, folks�don�t be pissed at me, be pissed at the chumps behind the counter. Because, lo and behold�it went through just fine! BUT--

They then, naturally, decided (this has been going on close to fifteen minutes by this time) to run it through again. Just to be sure, of course. And, interestingly enough, after I�d handed the clerk my 20-dollar bill. And I say they, because I was �waited on� by no less than three employees, from the clerk to the pharmacy tech to the pharmacist. Which may explain why, once they finally condescended to sell me my drugs in-plan�they couldn�t figure out what had happened to the money I�d handed them.

Well, it may have taken almost 25 minutes, but I eventually got my drugs, and my twelve dollars in change. But sometimes, winning feels a lot like losing. That kind of crap exhausts me.
We�re into 1918 now, and I�ve started reading �The Outdoor Girls in Army Service�. Look out, you dirty Huns, The Outdoor Girls are going to war! And it�s Propaganda-licious!
"It doesn't seem as though it _could_ be real!" she cried. "Men killing each other off by the hundreds and all for--what? Oh, it's cruel, cruel!"
"Of course it's cruel," said Allen grimly. "But so were the Huns cruel, centuries ago. The German people have simply never advanced beyond that state. They're still in the first stages of civilization."


Ooh, they were such savages. Amazing how the author manages to completely forget any contributions made by Germans to philosophy, music, science, art, or literature. Or, you know, the whole Johanes Gutenberg thing. And while it�s true that the Hessians were a revolutionary pain in our ass, we had at least one Prussian on our side.

Yeah, I am able, most of the time, to put these books into the proper context. Sometimes it�s pretty hard.



Reading: Hobby�The Outdoor Girls in Army Service, or Doing Their Bit for the Soldier Boys� by �Laura Lee Hope� (Elizabeth M. Duffield Ward), c. 1918

General--"The Real Wizard of Oz; The Life and Times of L. Frank Baum" by Rebecca Loncraine,

Surfing:

Listening: Tears For Fears, Georgia Satellites, Springsteen

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com