rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















my immune system must be fierce
May 10, 2010

Well, this weekend was less than optimal.

Went to get a cut and wax on Friday afternoon, and I'm still picking wax out of my right eyebrow. In all the years I've been getting this done, I've never before run into an issue with the wax refusing to come away with the paper. Naty applied three coats, and ended up using a piece of a coffee filter for paper, before she managed to get it off (ouch!).

And after the salon, I was off to my doctor appointment. Where I expected a normal, symptom-based appointment. And ended up with a complete physical, including a pap.

And a tetanus shot. Well, then. So long, weekend.

I�don�t react well to tetanus shots. Pain, itching and swelling at the injection site. Fever, chills, excessive fatigue, light-headedness, and body aches after about 24 hours. They kind of screw me over, short-term. But I guess the whole point of vaccines is to stir your body to action and wake up your immune system, causing it to create antibodies. If so, I have the rootin'est, tootin'est immune system you ever saw when it comes to tetanus toxoid.

And the fun wasn't limited to my appointment! I got to go in at the crack of dawn on Saturday morning and give up four vials of blood, for a complete workup.

And I have more appointments, scheduled for next Friday. One, for my first mammogram. There's a milestone I wasn�t looking forward to. And the other (in the interests of the actual symptom I presented with) for a vaginal ultrasound. Not looking forward to that, I must say. I had one several years ago, during my ovarian cancer scare. As I recall, it was distinctly unpleasant, and nothing I wanted to make a habit of. Especially the part where they make you drink a quart of water and then they won't let you pee for hours on end.


But in the 24 hours between shot and full-blown flu-like symptoms, I did manage to have a little fun. We went to the lodge for dinner on Friday night, where I won $20 on the slots and had a marvelous Beef Burgundy with roasted asparagus on the side. And on Saturday morning, we ran down to Niles for some shopping. Groceries at Meijer, lunch at Al's #1 Italian Beef, and a good dig through Half-Price Books. I found a few things on the dollar rack to throw on the slush pile, found a movie version of "I Capture the Castle" that I didn't know existed, and scored a gently used copy of Jeeves & Wooster, season three for $19.98.

I started to feel awful on the way home, though, and once I had all the groceries carried in and put away, I turned on the electric heater, wrapped up in a quilt, and pretty much called it a day. By 7:45, I gave up entirely and crawled into bed under the electric blanket. Didn't sleep well at all, though. Got up at 3:30, took a handful of Spouse�s low-dose aspirins, and crept back to bed. The aspirins did the trick; after they kicked in, I was able to grab a few hours sleep.
And then get up to do housework! Did laundry, anyway. Spouse did some cleaning, and I took a shower and threw on schlumpy sweats, as I didn't expect to be going out. I still felt kind of shitty, and had no plan other than to do the wash, clean some berries, make some lemonade, and throw together a pot roast.

Best laid plans�
First, Spouse had errands to run and wanted a sidekick, so I obliged. When we got home, cleaned the berries and squeezed the lemons and cleaned up after.

Then I went on FB�only to find out that W&T were having electrical problems at their house. I asked Spouse if he knew of any electricians to recommend to them, and he said "Well�me." (Bless his heart). So we ran over there, and he diagnosed the problem and resolved it for them. That took an hour, and when we got home, I had to get back on laundry detail�then I realized it was three o'clock, and the roast was a half-hour late to the oven. So scramble, scramble, got the whole dinner prepped and bunged it in to cook in about 15 minutes, then I was FINALLY allowed to sit back and chill awhile.
Then, this morning, I read with a heavy heart that we lost a true legend yesterday. The lovely, talented, sparkling, dynamic Lena Horne is gone.

The world has lost an incredible talent, passion, and beauty.

Reading: Still on the this, due to illness and the need to rest my eyes this weekend: "Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter", by Seth Grahame-Smith. Also started the last book in the MPG series, "The Moving Picture Girls in War Plays; Or, The Sham Battles at Oak Farm", by Laura Lee Hope

Surfing: My 3-buck find at HPB.

Listening: Natalie Merchant, Dave Mason, Lena (farewell, Ms. Horne�you amazing woman), and U2 (Happy Birthday, Bono).

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com