rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















well-appoint(ment)ed
May 06, 2010, 8:49 P.M.

It always seems to work out that if I have any appointments at all, they crowd together into the same week.

And it's usually a week when my work calendar is chock full of meetings and conference calls, as well.

This is such a week. Chiro on Monday, a drill & fill at the dentist tonight, and tomorrow after work is a double header, with the hair stylist at 12:30 and the doctor's office at 2:00.


Or should I say the nurse's office? When I finally got up the gumption yesterday, I called to make the doctor appointment. Only to be told that if I wanted to see the MD I would have to wait till the end of June, but if I would see the NP, I could get in by the end of the week.

Not that I'm dying to get in there, and not that I am sobbing over "suffering" the loss of a period, but I figure I should get this whole missing periods thing looked into. I'm assuming it's related to my age (46, but according to my health risk assessment my real age is�ahem--55). But it could be other things, so best to get checked out.
Talked to the 'rents last night. I wanted to see what was up for Mothers Day. Well, apparently my oldest brother decided that since I got them for Easter, he was getting them for Mothers Day. So I'm actually off the hook, which is highly unusual. My older brothers long ago decided to focus on their wives for this holiday, which is fitting, as they are the mothers of two kids apiece. So I�ve gotten used to handling it as regards our mom. Anyway (although I do very much enjoy Moms Day with my mom) I say dandy! If Bub wants to take it for this year, that's a lovely and wonderful thing. I can deal. I'll get down there with her gift and card one day soon, and it'll be cool.

In other parental news, their house needs a new driveway and a new roof. The dog had surgery to remove a malignant tumor, but seems to be doing quite well. The flowers are all blooming and gorgeous beyond belief this year. They've already got the RV opened up for the season. Mom is spring-cleaning and has hauled twelve big garbage bags of crap out. (This is FAB news, as my mother is a hoarder. Anytime actual removal goes on, we get pretty stoked.)
Having to slow down a bit on the recreational reading; the professional reading is leaving me with a case of serious eyestrain. Or, as I like to call it, "Excelitis". Nothing pisses me off more than having to surrender my recreational activities because my job sucks off all my resources. This is reminiscent of my old hand problems; the typing I did at work used up my limited capabilities and left me with useless, withered claws that were incapable of stitching, beading, or even holding a book for any length of time. Now I'm seeing the same sort of thing with my eyes. By the end of the day, I can't read, watch television, bead, stitch, or play on my computer because my eyes are used up and worn out.

Honestly, I don't know which I hate more, my life-sucking career or my sub-par physiological equipment.

Reading: Just finished or am currently reading: "The Moving Picture Girls at Sea; Or, A Pictured Shipwreck That Became Real", by Laura Lee Hope, "Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter", by Seth Grahame-Smith.

Surfing: MFT jewelry. I�d love a pendant to go with my ring & earrings.

Listening: John Prine, Arcade Fire, The National

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com