rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















bits & bobs & a bit of bitching
March 12, 2010

Got a (very) small bonus from my employers this week. Well, I got 60% of a small bonus, any way. Spendington, DC and The People�s Republic of Madison took the other 40%. They left me enough to buy some new work pants, though�so I can keep showing up, slaving away, and earning them more taxes.


Damn, I�m not looking forward to this �vacation�. With each passing day, it is more certain that the red tide will sweep in just in time for spending an entire day in the car on Monday, and do its usual best to ensure I have zero enjoyment.

And I really don�t want to go anywhere at all. That�s a pretty big factor. But I am up against the usual problem when one partner is a stay-at-home. I have been employed uninterruptedly since 1989; my change-of-pace is to crash cozily at home and not HAVE TO BE anywhere. Meanwhile, the house-husband is dying of the cabin fever and desperately needs to break out.

Sigh. Guess who wins. His turn, though, I suppose. He did give me a fabulous birthday.

But looking back, those few times when he was in field service, when I took vacation while he was out of town?

Best shit ever.
As I mentioned above, I need to go buy work pants. I�ve been wearing the same basic pant style year-round for about 5 years, and they work great for me. Hey�we sensory-defensives find something that works, and we stick to it as long as we can. (I�ve been wearing the same bra style for 20 years, because the straps don�t hurt and my boobs aren�t squished together!) But there is always the great fear at new pants time that they will have been deemed �out-of-style�, and disappear forever. I think I may be okay, since it looks like Catherine�s and the Bug are still carrying them online in black and navy, at least. If I can get four pairs (preferably black, black, navy, & brown), along with a new pair of blue jeans, I�ll be reasonably ecstatic.

Reading: "Grace Harlowe's Overland Riders on the Great American Desert" (1921), by Jessie Graham Flower. This is the 4th GH series, but I had to skip the 3rd, as The �Overseas� books are very rare and difficult to find. These are pretty hard to find as well--I was only able to locate the 2nd through 4th in installments of the 10-book series(this one is number 2). ALL I can say is WTF?! Lovely Grace Harlowe with her clear grey eyes is now a rootin, tootin, bronc-bustin�, shoot-em-up adventure-seeker�nicknamed Brown Eyes?! That must have been some war service.

Surfing:

Listening: Springsteen, RHCP, Radiohead, Counting Crows.

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com