rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















short cuts
February 08, 2010

Work News: yet another round of the seemingly endless re-orging they do around there. Don�t give a rat�s behind normally, but this time I�m losing formerboss, who is my friend and my AVP and my safety valve. That sucks.


Home life. Spouse and I dedicated ourselves to a quiet weekend this week, relaxing at home, doing mildly reasonable amounts of housework, and puttering around with cooking, baking, schoolwork, watching TV (those folks out east are so funny when it snows!), reading, and futzing around on the internet. In my book, it�s a great day when you never make it out of you pajamas.

Speaking of cooking and housework�I broke down and bought an electric juicer. America�s Test Kitchen recommended Black & Decker�s version, Target had it in stock, and it was less than $20, so I jumped. Used it yesterday for the first time, and wowsers. Loved it. Fast, efficient, and easy to use (kinda noisy, though.) My poor old crippled wrists are overjoyed. Spouse was all for me getting one�he confessed that he�s really gotten used to having his Sunday morning juice treat, and would hate to give it up.

My culinary treats this weekend were: Homemade steak soft tacos for Saturday night, ham, eggs, toast, hash browns, coffee and juice for Sunday breakfast, and Spouse�s favorite�pot roast with potatoes & carrots and banana cake for dessert--on Sunday evening.

He does continue to surprise me with his open-mindedness when it comes to cooking and housework. He�s been on a roll for months now, and only gets more into it. I hardly clean anything anymore, because he�s on it before I can get the rags out.

He�s getting steadily more adventurous in the kitchen, too�not only as to what he will cook, but what he will eat, too. He actually bought a Taste of Home recipe magazine in the grocery store the other day, and went though it marking the things he wanted to try.

Who is this lovely man, and where did my husband go?
Super Bowl: Glad N.O. won, but didn�t watch the game or really care too much one way or the other. Not a football fan. I did, as always, watch Puppy Bowl VI, though. The rabbit cheerleaders and the hamsters in the blimp were a nice touch.
Weather: Out east, they called it �Snowmageddon�, and we Midwesterners laughed at those lightweights. But now all of OUR weather forecasts are predicting impending snows of DOOM (i.e. 10 to 14 inches), and it ain�t so funny. Truth is, I�m suffering from some seriously bad winter fatigue. I can�t even allow myself to think about what�s coming, or I�d just crawl in a hole and die. And if I let myself think about the fact that I�ve allowed myself to be trapped in this horrible climate against my will for THIRTY FUCKING YEARS�well, my brain would pop. So I try to avoid the subject.
Random: Whatever happened to the �crazy people think they are Napoleon� trope? It shows up in the 1911 story book I�m reading, and I can remember it as still common during my 1970s childhood, but you don�t seem to see it anymore. Maybe it was a victim of the PC revolution.

Reading: �Grace Harlowe's Sophomore Year At High School, or The Record of the Girl Chums in Work and Athletics�, by Jessie Graham Flower (copyright 1911, the Henry Altemus Company). Also reading �Ancient Gonzo Wisdom: Interviews with Hunter S. Thompson�, edited by Anita Thompson

Surfing:

Listening:

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com