rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















peace
November 22, 2009

Spouse drove me into work on Friday, so he could pick me up and we could head right over to McHenry. After checking all the available ads, we had decided that it was worth doing the Thanksgiving Big Shop at Meijer, as they had the best prices. And holy CRAP, did they ever. We were able to entirely fill the trunk on the G6 for only $105.00! Bless �em--the 4 turkeys alone came to $52.86, and Meijer took thirty-two dollars off of that. What a deal!

The total shop ended up being:
4 hen turkeys, approximately 11 lbs each, 45 lbs of white potatoes, 17 lbs of sweet potatoes, 6 lbs of fresh carrots, 2 lbs of celery, 9 packets of gravy mix, 4 dozen dinner rolls, 6 lbs of margarine, a case of canned vegetables, 4 cans of cranberry sauce, 8 boxes of stuffing, 6 pies, 4 tubs of whipped topping, 2 cases of ramen noodles, and 40 juice boxes.

Like I said, a trunkful of groceries for one HELL of a good price.

Once we got back to town and unloaded all that at the Shalom Center, we came home and put our own groceries away, then took a nap. Even after we got up, we felt too pooped to do much more than order a pizza and sit around with our feet up.


Yesterday was all about getting the laundry and housework and assorted errands wrapped up, since Spouse had to be in Milwaukee at 5:00 am this morning to meet P&E and get to the airport. Spouse made grilled steaks, steak fries, corn-on-the-cob, and garlic toast for dinner. And after we got the dinner mess cleaned up, we packed his bag and spent the evening relaxing.
So, Spouse left for LV this morning, and now I�m celebrating the peace and solitude with a mocha, the �Snapped� marathon on Oxygen, and the baking of a raspberry pie. Mount Laundry and most other household crap having been tackled yesterday, today is all about me. I plan on getting off my butt in a little bit and treating myself to a bit of spa-style pampering. Exfoliation, deep-conditioning the hair, and some strategic depilation. Other than that, I�m not going to exert myself much.

Oh--I do plan on replacing my dilapidated shower liner and washing the curtain before I put it back up, but that�s about all, work-wise. I�m going to pop over to W&T�s this afternoon to meet the newest member of their family. They�ve just taken in a two-year-old female Chihuahua.

That�s what the pie is for--I figured we�d celebrate.

Reading: �Eight Cousins�, by Louisa May Alcott. Another visit to an old, dear friend.

Surfing: Courtesy of The Great Lileks: 1934 Sears Catalog.

Listening: �Rent--The OCR� Warming up for next Saturday!

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com