rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















should I or shouldn�t I?
November 05, 2009

NOTICE:
No one uses them, so unless I hear back from anyone out there, I will be doing away with the comments in mid-November. If no one responds, I may also assume I have no readers and take the diary private.



I lost touch years ago with K, my maid-of-honor and former best friend. We haven�t spoken in close to two decades, and I haven�t known where she is or anything about her for pretty much that long.

I don�t know what happened. I moved away, she moved away, I was poor and without a phone, she was struggling to establish a career�shit happens.

But I miss her, and I�ve always missed her. And every few months, I�d Google her. Never any hits that I could be sure of, though. But the Web gets ever bigger, and so I kept trying. And I found her last night.

I know it�s her this time�there is a photo. I know where she works, what she does, and how to reach her�by email, snail mail, or phone.

So. There she is.

What do I do now?
It�s a little scary. Daunting. The �what if� game. I think I�m going to have to ramp up to this one.
I should have gotten a lot more done today than I did, considering the company email was down all frigging day. But I was just not in the high-achiever groove. Plus, it�s colder than a witch�s tit in my office and all I can think about all day long is that incessant, chilly draft blowing down my neck.

Then there's the whole resistentialist vibe of the day:
Trucks Are Trying To Kill Me Day, landscaping equipment dumped in my parking space, my way into the building blocked off for repair work, the aforementioned email issues, half the people you need are out with flu, the other half are in Hawaii, burning vacation before the end of the year...the Thursday anti-virus scan that slows the system to a crawl...and in all that, you can't even find a place to go pee. Between the remodeling that's going on, and the aggressive cleaning regimen in place for flu season, half of our woefully small number of restrooms are out of commission at any given time.

Makes you wonder if there are forces at work trying to tell you something.

Reading: �Write Murder Down� by Richard Lockridge. �A Nun in the Closet� by Dorothy Gilman.

Surfing:

Listening: Radiohead, The Rolling Stones, My Morning Jacket

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com